HB 1650 - State service delivery regions; create

First Reader Summary

A BILL to amend Chapter 4 of Title 50 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to organization of the executive branch generally, so as to provide for the creation of state service delivery regions; and for other purposes.

Coleman, Terry L (142nd) Royal, A. Richard (164th) Jamieson, Mary Jeanette (22nd)
Status Summary HC: App SC: SLGO LA: 04/20/98 Signed by Governor
Page Numbers - 1/ 2
Code Sections - 50-4-7
House Action Senate
2/13/98 Read 1st Time 3/6/98
2/16/98 Read 2nd Time 3/16/98
2/18/98 Favorably Reported 3/16/98
Sub Committee Amend/Sub Sub
3/6/98 Read 3rd Time 3/18/98
3/6/98 Passed/Adopted 3/18/98
CSFA Comm/Floor Amend/Sub CS
3/19/98 Amend/Sub Agreed To
4/1/98 Sent to Governor
4/20/98 Signed by Governor
925 Act/Veto Number
7/1/98 Effective Date

HB 1650                                            HB 1650/AP 
      H. B. No. 1650 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE) 
      By:  Representatives Coleman of the 142nd, Royal of the 
      164th and Jamieson of the 22nd 
                        A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 
                               AN ACT 
  1- 1  To amend Chapter 4 of Title 50 of the Official Code of 
  1- 2  Georgia Annotated, relating to organization of the executive 
  1- 3  branch generally, so as to provide for the creation of state 
  1- 4  service delivery regions; to provide for exceptions; to 
  1- 5  repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes. 
  1- 7                           SECTION 1. 
  1- 8  Chapter 4 of Title 50 of the Official Code of Georgia 
  1- 9  Annotated, relating to organization of the executive branch 
  1-10  generally, is amended by adding at the end thereof a new 
  1-11  Code Section 50-4-7 to read as follows: 
  1-12    "50-4-7. 
  1-13    (a) For the purpose of delivering state services to local 
  1-14    units of government and citizens and for the purpose of 
  1-15    establishing state agency regional boundaries, there are 
  1-16    created 12 state service delivery regions as follows: 
  1-17      (1) State Service Delivery Region 1 shall be composed of 
  1-18      Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, 
  1-19      Gordon, Haralson, Murray, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, 
  1-20      Walker, and Whitfield counties; 
  1-21      (2) State Service Delivery Region 2 shall be composed of 
  1-22      Banks, Dawson, Forsyth, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, 
  1-23      Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, and White 
  1-24      counties; 
  1-25      (3) State Service Delivery Region 3 shall be composed of 
  1-26      Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, 
  1-27      Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, and Rockdale counties; 
  1-28      (4) State Service Delivery Region 4 shall be composed of 
  1-29      Butts, Carroll, Coweta, Heard, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike, 
  1-30      Spalding, Troup, and Upson counties; 
  1-31      (5) State Service Delivery Region 5 shall be composed of 
  1-32      Barrow, Clarke, Elbert, Greene, Jackson, Jasper, 
  2- 1      Madison, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, and Walton 
  2- 2      counties; 
  2- 3      (6) State Service Delivery Region 6 shall be composed of 
  2- 4      Baldwin, Bibb, Crawford, Houston, Jones, Monroe, Peach, 
  2- 5      Pulaski, Putnam, Twiggs, and Wilkinson counties; 
  2- 6      (7) State Service Delivery Region 7 shall be composed of 
  2- 7      Burke, Columbia, Glascock, Hancock, Jefferson, Jenkins, 
  2- 8      Lincoln, McDuffie, Richmond, Taliaferro, Warren, 
  2- 9      Washington, and Wilkes counties; 
  2-10      (8) State Service Delivery Region 8 shall be composed of 
  2-11      Chattahoochee, Clay, Crisp, Dooly, Harris, Macon, 
  2-12      Marion, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, 
  2-13      Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, and Webster counties; 
  2-14      (9) State Service Delivery Region 9 shall be composed of 
  2-15      Appling, Bleckley, Candler, Dodge, Emanuel, Jeff Davis, 
  2-16      Johnson, Laurens, Montgomery, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, 
  2-17      Wayne, Wheeler, and Wilcox counties; 
  2-18      (10) State Service Delivery Region 10 shall be composed 
  2-19      of Baker, Calhoun, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, 
  2-20      Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas, 
  2-21      and Worth counties; 
  2-22      (11) State Service Delivery Region 11 shall be composed 
  2-23      of Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, 
  2-24      Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, 
  2-25      Lowndes, Pierce, Tift, Turner, and Ware counties; and 
  2-26      (12) State Service Delivery Region 12 shall be composed 
  2-27      of Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, 
  2-28      Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Screven, and Tattnall 
  2-29      counties. 
  2-30    (b) This Code section shall not apply to or affect health 
  2-31    districts or mental health districts." 
  2-32                           SECTION 2. 
  2-33  All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are 
  2-34  repealed. 

Clerk of the House
Robert E. Rivers, Jr., Clerk
Last Updated on 04/28/98