24 LC 128 0354

House Resolution 1510

By: Representatives Martin of the 49th, Scoggins of the 14th, Barrett of the 24th, Burns of the 159th, and Stinson of the 150th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars on
- 2 Academic Recognition Day for 2024; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Academic Recognition Day celebrates academic achievement and recognition
- 4 of those students who exemplify what is best about the University System of Georgia, the
- 5 units of which enhance the intellectual, economic, social, civic, and cultural well-being of
- 6 the entire state through dedicated teaching and research and excellence in learning; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the following students, each of whom has demonstrated excellence in academic
- 8 achievement and personal development, have been recognized as University System of
- 9 Georgia Outstanding Scholars representing their respective institutions for 2024: Annah
- 10 Williams, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Zikeria L. Jones, Albany State University;
- 11 Cheyenne Renee Brown, Atlanta Metropolitan State College; Riley Summer Kublin, Augusta
- 12 University; Michael D. Jones, Clayton State University; Peyton Garris, College of Coastal
- 13 Georgia; Bailey A. Melton, Columbus State University; Chandler Tate Dillard, Dalton State
- 14 College; Anthony Deleon-Lopez, East Georgia State College; Jamyra Tionne Hayes, Fort
- 15 Valley State University; Vivian E. Cassaniti, Georgia College & State University; Hannah
- 16 Clay, Georgia Gwinnett College; Amanda Winn, Georgia Highlands College; Jason Juang,
- 17 Georgia Institute of Technology; Leilah Harshbarger, Georgia Southern University; Josie

LC 128 0354

18 Ellen Battaglia, Georgia Southwestern State University; Rorah Ndungu, Georgia State

- 19 University, Aastha Jaiswal, Gordon State College; Edwin Trejo-Rivera, Kennesaw State
- 20 University; Chloe Davis, Middle Georgia State University; Jiwon Choi, Savannah State
- 21 University; Jordan Woodard, South Georgia State College; Emilio Dante Ferrara, University
- 22 of Georgia; Aysia Bittinger, University of North Georgia; Malia Pope, University of West
- 23 Georgia; and Teressa Konyo Akuoko, Valdosta State University.
- 24 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 25 the members of this body recognize and commend the University System of Georgia
- 26 Outstanding Scholars for their superb achievements in education and for being selected as
- 27 representatives from their respective institutions on the occasion of Academic Recognition
- 28 Day for 2024.
- 29 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 31 Honorable Sonny Perdue, Chancellor, University System of Georgia; Harold Reynolds,
- 32 Chairman, Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia; and each of the University
- 33 System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars for 2024.