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LOST

Senator Hill of the 32nd offered the following amendment:

Amend 818 by inserting after "To" on line 1 "amend Article 1 of Chapter 9 of Title 34 of the1

Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to workers' compensation generally, so as to2

provide for a certificate of state law applicability to be issued by the State Board of Workers'3

Compensation under certain circumstances; to provide for an application fee; to authorize the4

board to promulgate certain rules and regulations; to" and by inserting after "BE IT5

ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:" the following:6

SECTION 0.1.7

Article 1 of Chapter 9 of Title 34 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to8

workers' compensation generally, is amended by adding a new Code section to read as9

follows:10

"34-9-2.4.11

(a)  Any person, firm, or private corporation, including any public service corporation, that12

has regularly in service less than three employees in the same business within this state and13

has not voluntarily elected to be bound by this chapter may apply with the board for the14

issuance of a certificate of state law applicability.  A form for making such application15

shall be made available by the board and shall require the applicant to swear or affirm16

under penalty of perjury facts necessary to show that the applicant meets the qualifications17

for the applicable exemption under paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of Code Section 34-9-2.18

The  certificate of state law applicability shall recite relevant state law and certify that the19

applicant has represented facts to the board which, if true, would not require such applicant20

to provide workers' compensation insurance coverage under such laws of this state or to21

comply with any other provisions of this chapter.  The certificate shall be issued by the22

board within 15 days of receipt of such application.  A fee of $25.00 shall be submitted23

with the application.  If the application is denied for any reason, such application fee shall24

not be returned.25

(b)  Nothing in this Code section shall be construed to require the board to investigate or26

make an independent determination as to any facts represented by the applicant for a27

certificate of state law applicability.28

(c)  The board shall be authorized to promulgate rules and regulations necessary for the29

implementation of this Code section."30


