A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the House Interns for the 2016 Regular Session; and for other purposes.

2 WHEREAS, the Georgia Legislative Internship Program is one of the nation's oldest

3 educational internships to focus on the state legislative process; and

4 WHEREAS, the internship program is a cooperative venture between the Georgia General

5 Assembly and institutions of higher learning in Georgia; and it provides a select group of

6 students in-depth exposure to the House and the Senate by assigning them to assist key

7 standing committees and legislative leaders; and

8 WHEREAS, 2016 marks the 11th year of the Georgia House of Representatives Speaker's

9 Leadership Program, giving students chosen for the program an opportunity to be involved

10 first-hand in the important work of this body; and

11 WHEREAS, the 28 students selected for the House Legislative Internship Program, the

12 Speaker's Leadership Program, and the University of Georgia Family and Consumer Science

13 Program represent some of the best and the brightest college students in our state who share

14 a genuine interest in the lawmaking process and a potential commitment to public service;

15 and

WHEREAS, participants in this outstanding program are students from the University of
Georgia, Georgia Institute of Technology, Emory University, Georgia State University,
University of West Georgia, Kennesaw State University, Georgia Southern University,

19 Albany State University, and Brewton-Parker College; and

20 WHEREAS, the unique experience of participating as a House Intern has undoubtedly 21 enriched the academic study these college students have completed; and 22 WHEREAS, the members of the standing committees and legislative leaders benefited 23 greatly from the service of these interns and salute each of these students on a job well done: 24 Interns Laura Breithaupt, Kadedra Caldwell, Ahmad Cissoko, Katherine Clinton, Olivia 25 Czufin, Isaiah Ellison, LaMaya Edmonds, Samuel Hanks, Anthony Hill, Jagger Hogue, Abdul-Raheem Igbadume, Alexis Jones, Jacqlynn Klein, Elizabeth Lisenby, DeAnna 26 27 McDuffie, Solidad Nicolson, Osamagbe Osagie, Gernisha Parnell, Shivani Patel, Andrew 28 Roberts, Joshua Roye, Richard Sykes, Akosua Wiafe, Albee Allison - UGA Family and Consumer Science Intern, Morgan Easley - UGA Family and Consumer Science Intern, Anna 29 30 Beth Smith - UGA Family and Consumer Science Intern, Victoria Doris - Speaker's 31 Leadership Program, and Petra Simpson - Speaker's Leadership Program.

32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

- 33 this body commends the House Interns for the 2016 Regular Session on their superb
- 34 performance and conveys its best wishes to them for success in their future pursuits.
- 35 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 36 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to each
- 37 of the interns named herein.