16 LC 109 0265

Senate Resolution 1002

By: Senators Millar of the 40th, Kennedy of the 18th, Gooch of the 51st, Harbin of the 16th, Hill of the 4th and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars on Academic Recognition
- 2 Day for 2016; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Academic Recognition Day celebrates academic achievement and recognition
- 4 of those students who exemplify what is best about the University System of Georgia, the
- 5 units of which enhance the intellectual, economic, social, civic, and cultural well-being of
- 6 the entire state through dedicated teaching and research and excellence in learning; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the following students, each of whom has demonstrated excellence in academic
- 8 achievement and personal development, have been recognized as University System of
- 9 Georgia Outstanding Scholars representing their respective institutions for 2016:
- 10 Ajah Ochoa, Georgia Perimeter College; Alicia Carter, Georgia Southern University; Amy
- 11 Droegmiller, Gordon State College; Ashleigh Knight, Middle Georgia State University;
- 12 Austin T. Duncan, Darton State College; Brittany Kelchner, Georgia Highlands College;
- 13 Daniel Meis, Savannah State University; David Richmond, Kennesaw State University;
- 14 Deja Clay, Fort Valley State University; Drew Barker, University of West Georgia; Evan
- 15 Ridley, Albany State University; Fred Martin, Armstrong State University; Gwendolyn
- 16 London, Georgia College and State University; Haley Dupree, Abraham Baldwin
- 17 Agricultural College; Hannah Bradford, Dalton State College; Hannah Greenwald,
- 18 Georgia Institute of Technology; *Jennifer Hightower*, University of North Georgia; *Jordan*
- 19 Rudnicki, Georgia Gwinnett College; Julie Rigdon, South Georgia State College; Kelli
- 20 Kirby, East Georgia State College; Kenneth Roop-Eckart, Columbus State University;
- 21 Malik Burton, Atlanta Metropolitan State College; Mary Wise, Georgia Southwestern State
- 22 University; Michelle York, Clayton State University; Miranda King, College of Coastal
- Georgia; Ronald Shanderson, Georgia State University; Stephanie Cipollone, Augusta
- 24 University; Sydney Beckmann, Valdosta State University; Torre Lavelle, University of
- 25 Georgia; and *Yamantie Galnares*, Bainbridge State College.

16 LC 109 0265

26 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the University System

- 27 of Georgia Outstanding Scholars are commended for superb achievements in education and
- 28 for being selected as representatives from their respective institutions on the occasion of
- 29 Academic Recognition Day for 2016.
- 30 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 31 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Honorable Hank
- 32 M. Huckaby, Chancellor, University System of Georgia; Kessel Stelling, Jr., Chairman,
- 33 Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia; and each of the University System
- 34 of Georgia Outstanding Scholars for 2016.