House Resolution 1359

By: Representatives Watson of the 172nd, Powell of the 171st, Houston of the 170th, Rynders of the 152nd, Carter of the 175th, and others

A RESOLUTION

Commending the Colquitt County Packers football team for winning the 2015 Class 1

2 AAAAAA State Championship and National Rankings; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, through perseverance and determination, the Colquitt County Packers gained 4 their third championship title in the varsity football program's 102nd season with a hard-earned 30 to 13 victory over the Roswell High Hornets; and 5

6 WHEREAS, the Colquitt County Packers dominated the game after Roswell High scored on 7 the second play from scrimmage, and they did not allow another touchdown; put up 26 first

8 downs and 440 yards of total offense; set a single-season record for points scored in the

9

highest classification; claimed the Class AAAAAA State Championship at the Georgia Dome, the school's second back-to-back state championship; and are nationally ranked first 10

11 and second in every national high school sportswriters poll; and

12 WHEREAS, this is the school's third state championship title since 1994; and

13 WHEREAS, running back Ty Lee had 213 yards from scrimmage, 90 rushing, 123 receiving;

14 place kicker Luis Martinez set a new state record in point after touchdown and field goals;

and quarterback Chase Parrish set another single-season touchdown pass record, finishing 15

16 with 40 touchdown passes and a career total of 70 touchdown passes; and

17 WHEREAS, the team reached the semifinals or finals of Georgia's highest classification each 18 year for five years prior to winning the state title in 2014, which made them work even

- 19 harder to win the state championship in 2015; and
- WHEREAS, the Colquitt County Packers completed their second straight 15-0 season, 20
- becoming the third school to go undefeated in consecutive seasons in the highest class since 21
- 22 Parkview High School in 2002; and

16

- 23 WHEREAS, ranking in the top two of several national polls, the Colquitt County Packers
- 24 remain in contention for winning a national title and were crowned National Champions in
- 25 two polls, *High School Football America* and *Prep Force*; and
- WHEREAS, the performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding talent, dedication, and hard work, as well as the unity of purpose and spirit, possessed by each member of the team; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Coach Rush Propst was selected as Region 1-AAAAAA Coach of the Year for
- 30 2015, and the Colquitt County Packers football assistant coaches were named State
- 31 AAAAAA Assistant Coaches of the Year after winning the 2015 State Championship; and
- 32 WHEREAS, this team earned its reputation for excellence by performing with courage and
- 33 precision over months of training and competition and by following its mantra of "Repeat,"
- 34 making it proper to call them "Champions."
- 35 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 36 the members of this body commend and congratulate the Colquitt County Packers football
- 37 team for winning the 2015 Class AAAAAA State Championship.
- 38 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 39 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 40 Colquitt County Packers football team.