16 LC 111 0181

House Resolution 1329

By: Representative Belton of the 112th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the 2015 Morgan County High School softball team; and for
- 2 other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the 2015 Morgan County High School softball team was the Region 8-AAA
- 4 regular season champion with a 10-2 record in region play; and
- 5 WHEREAS, with an overall record of 31-8, this was the first time a Morgan County High
- 6 School softball team won 30 games in a season since the 2005 season; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the team captured the 8-AAA Region Tournament championship for the first
- 8 time since 2005; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the team had a season high win streak of 13 games in which it won 15 of the
- 10 last 17 games to complete the season; and
- 11 WHEREAS, it qualified for the "Sweet 16" for the third straight season and the Elite 8/State
- 12 Championship Tournament in Columbus for the first time since 2005; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the Morgan County softball team was the Runner-Up to the AAA Georgia State
- 14 Championship, missing becoming the State Champion by only one run; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Coach Doug Connelly was named the Georgia AAA State Coach of the Year;
- 16 and
- 17 WHEREAS, senior Alishia Frierson was named the Georgia Dugout Club State Player of the
- 18 Year and the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association State Player of the Year and was selected
- 19 as the Region 8-AAA Region Player-of-the-Year and for the Georgia Dugout Club All-State
- 20 Team; and

16 LC 111 0181

21 WHEREAS, Alissa Webb, Alishia Frierson, Ansley Dean, and Sarah Couch were all selected

- 22 for 1st Team Region 8-AAA, and Elizabeth Couch, Alisha Ellis, and Hannah Carver were
- 23 selected for 2nd Team Region 8-AAA; and
- 24 WHEREAS, the team had two main themes; the first, taken from Ephesians 5:15, was to
- 25 make the most of every practice and game opportunity in an effort to get better as a team
- 26 each day, and the second was to always strive to reach mastery in an attempt to attain
- 27 greatness; and
- 28 WHEREAS, the team included Hannah Carver, Elizabeth Couch, Sarah Couch, Ansley Dean,
- 29 Kaylee Darsey, Alisha Ellis, Alishia Frierson, Madison Henry, Maddie Kinnett, Avery Kirby,
- 30 Leah Malcom, Bryanna Mims, Brittany Smith, Sydney Walker, and Alissa Webb; the players
- 31 were coached by Doug Connelly, Merritt Ainslie, Billy Dooley, John Darsey, and Alyson
- 32 Griggs and were managed by Justin Miner, Cody Frierson, and Carter Kirkpatrick.
- 33 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 34 the members of this body recognize and commend the 2015 Morgan County High School
- 35 softball team, its players, coaches, managers, and the team members' families for their
- 36 service to the community and youth and extend warmest best wishes for continued success.
- 37 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 39 2015 Morgan County High School softball team.