16 LC 109 0243

Senate Resolution 951

By: Senator Harbison of the 15th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the middle school nominees for the Muscogee County School
- 2 District's 2016 Teacher of the Year Award; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, each of the Muscogee District's schools nominated a teacher for the award,
- 4 which is chosen by the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation based on the
- 5 nominating application, an interview with the candidate, and an in-class observation of the
- 6 candidate; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the middle school nominees for the Muscogee County School District's 2016
- 8 Teacher of the Year Award are Kacy Ingram, Melissa Niemi, Pearlie Jenkins, Dorothy
- 9 Johnson, Kathleen Bolar, Laura Toepfer, Delincia Hart, Otis Lofton, Amy Mobley, Andrea
- 10 Bingham, Brenda Curtis, and Carolyn Pharris; and
- 11 WHEREAS, nothing is more vital to the future of our state than the education of our young
- 12 people, and these individuals exemplify the selfless dedication that is characteristic of our
- 13 finest teachers; and
- 14 WHEREAS, this commitment to excellence in education has earned the respect of students,
- parents, and colleagues, and such laudable work has garnered each of them a nomination as
- 16 the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year; and
- 17 WHEREAS, in recognition of such remarkable contributions to the education and welfare
- 18 of Georgia's students, it is abundantly fitting and proper for this body to honor the
- 19 extraordinary accomplishments and academic achievements of these exceptional teachers.
- 20 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 21 commend the middle school nominees for the Muscogee County School District's 2016
- 22 Teacher of the Year Award for such outstanding work, extend congratulations on being

16 LC 109 0243

23 nominated as the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year, and express their

- 24 gratitude for such invaluable contributions to education in Georgia.
- 25 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 26 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the middle school
- 27 nominees for the Muscogee County School District's 2016 Teacher of the Year Award.