16 LC 111 0004

House Resolution 1154

By: Representatives Smith of the 134th, Jasperse of the 11th, Pirkle of the 155th, England of the 116th, McCall of the 33rd, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing February 3, 2016, as 4-H Day at the State Capitol; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 3 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 4 Georgia; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Ben Lord of Ben Hill County serves with distinction and dedication as State
- 6 4-H President; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 8 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Kyle Sellers of Columbia County,
- 10 Tjay Williams of Gwinnett County, Sophia Rodriguez of Liberty County, and James
- 11 Hancock of Irwin County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H
- 12 membership in their election of each of these young people to serve as president for
- 13 2015-2016; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Brett
- 15 Allen of Johnson County, Thomas Gilbert of Bartow County, Mathew Pryor of Bartow
- 16 County, and Trent Whisenant of Murray County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at
- 17 the 2015 National 4-H Conference; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Camilla Summerford of Seminole County and Thomas Gilbert of Bartow
- 19 County were named 2015 Leadership in Action Winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Trevor Barkley of Bleckley County, Jannah Brown of Pulaski County,
- 21 Elizabeth Hanson of Pike County, Ezra Hall of Bartow County, and Anna Holcombe of Hart
- 22 County were named state winners in the 2015 Deans' Awards competition; and

16 LC 111 0004

23 WHEREAS, Hannah Mosely of Bleckley County was declared champion of the 2015

- 24 National 4-H Turkey Barbecue Competition at the National 4-H Poultry and Egg Conference
- 25 in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Caroline Dunn, Justin Harper, Karen Ouano, and Nicole Taylor of Tift County
- 27 were declared First Place Poultry Judging Team at the National 4-H Poultry and Egg
- 28 Conference in Louisville, Kentucky.
- 29 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 30 the members of this body recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of
- 31 Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Ben Lord, State 4-H Club
- 32 President; Mr. Arch D. Smith, State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2015-2016 4-H district
- presidents; 2015 Deans' Awards winners; 2015 National 4-H Conference delegates; 2015
- 34 Leadership in Action winners; 2015 National 4-H Turkey Barbecue Competition winner; and
- 35 2015 National 4-H Poultry Judging Team winners for their numerous accomplishments and
- 36 for the leadership that they have demonstrated.
- 37 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that February 3, 2016, is recognized as 4-H Day at the State
- 38 Capitol.
- 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 40 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 41 University of Georgia Cooperative Extension.