16 LC 109 0050

Senate Resolution 810

By: Senator Dugan of the 30th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the University of West Georgia football team for their record-breaking season;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, head football coach Will Hall was named the American Football Coaches
- 4 Association Region 2 Coach of the Year in Division 2 after leading the Wolves to a 10-1
- 5 regular season, and a second straight trip to the NCAA Division II Playoffs, winning their
- 6 second straight Super Region 2 Championship; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the Wolves set a new school record for single-season touchdowns with 60
- 8 touchdowns during the 2015 season; and
- 9 WHEREAS, defensive end Dylan Donahue, offensive guard Orion Awa-Dubose, place
- 10 kicker Hunter Heck, tackle Dominique Robertson, defensive end Alex Armah, and safety
- 11 Carlos Hutton were selected to the 2015 Division II Conference Commissioner's Association
- 12 All-Super Region Two football teams for their outstanding performances during the 2015
- 13 season; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Dylan Donahue was honored as a national finalist for the prestigious Gene
- 15 Upshaw Division II Lineman of the Year Award; and
- 16 WHEREAS, at the conclusion of the best Division II football season in school history, the
- 17 2015 Wolves were among the most decorated in program history, with a record 17 players
- 18 on the All-Gulf South Conference teams; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the University of West Georgia's Devontae Jackson was honored by the Gulf
- 20 South Conference as the Gulf South Conference Freshman of the Week for three straight
- 21 weeks; and

16 LC 109 0050

22 WHEREAS, the Wolves' historic record-setting season has led to ten University of West

- 23 Georgia standout players being named to the USA College Football All-America Team, and
- 24 the Conference Commissioner's Association All-America Team; and
- 25 WHEREAS, University of West Georgia standouts Dylan Donahue and Orion Awa-Dubose
- 26 were named as members of the Associated Press Little All-America Team, marking the first
- 27 time in the university's history that the Wolves have had two players named to the Associated
- 28 Press Little All-America Team in the same season; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Dallas Dickey, Hunter Heck, Curtis Lindsay, Harley Vaughan, Jamaree James,
- 30 and Ethan Slate were recognized for their excellence on the field and in the classroom by
- 31 being voted to the league's 2015 Fireseeds Gulf South Conference All-Academic Football
- 32 Team; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the members of the University of West Georgia football team are accomplishing
- many great things both on and off the field, making it abundantly fitting and proper for them
- 35 to be honored.
- 36 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 37 commend the University of West Georgia football team for their record-breaking season and
- 38 wish them continued success.
- 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 40 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the University of
- 41 West Georgia football team.