16 LC 111 0040

Senate Resolution 695

By: Senators Ginn of the 47th, Sims of the 12th, Hill of the 4th, Tippins of the 37th, Harper of the 7th and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Clayton-Pike-Lamar-Upson-Spalding Forestry Unit on
- 2 being named the Georgia Forestry Commission 2015 Northern Unit of the Year; and for
- 3 other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is to provide leadership,
- 5 service, and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources; and
- 6 WHEREAS, due to the outstanding accomplishments of the Clayton-Pike-Lamar-
- 7 Upson-Spalding Forestry Unit in the year 2015 in the areas of wildfire prevention and
- 8 suppression, forestry services, safety, and assisting in extreme weather incidents both in
- 9 Georgia and out of state, it was selected as Georgia Forestry Commission's Northern Unit of
- 10 the Year; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Clayton-Pike-Lamar-Upson-Spalding Forestry Unit
- 12 are a clear indication of the dedication and teamwork of the individuals at the Unit, their
- ability to work together with limited personnel resources and surpass the goals of the work
- 14 group, the pride they possess in their job, and their complete devotion to Georgia's citizens
- and their fellow forestry professionals; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the recognized Unit consists of dedicated Georgia Forestry Commission
- 17 professionals Ranger Geoffrey Dean, Ranger Johnathan Butts, Ranger Adam Edmondson,
- 18 Ranger Kolby Lynch, Ranger Ken Parker, and Ranger Tyler Mameli, serving under the
- 19 leadership of Chief Ranger/District Safety Officer Jeffrey Kenerly; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the Clayton-Pike-Lamar-Upson-Spalding Forestry Unit brings great pride to the
- 21 citizens of Clayton, Pike, Lamar, Upson, and Spalding counties; the Chattahoochee District;
- 22 the Georgia Forestry Commission; and the entire State of Georgia.

16 LC 111 0040

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body

- 24 commend the Clayton-Pike-Lamar-Upson-Spalding Forestry Unit on being named the 2015
- 25 Northern Unit of the Year.
- 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Seante is authorized and directed
- 27 to make an appropriate a copy of this resolution available for distribution to Chief Ranger
- 28 Jeff Kenerly.