## House Resolution 938

By: Representatives Mosby of the 83<sup>rd</sup>, Oliver of the 82<sup>nd</sup>, Drenner of the 85<sup>th</sup>, Williams of the 87<sup>th</sup>, and Mitchell of the 88<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the Gladys Cook Scholarship recipients; and for other purposes.

- 2 WHEREAS, the DeKalb County Council of PTAs Scholarship Program began in May, 1962,
- 3 with the presentation of a \$200.00 Scholarship to a Cross Keys High School student; and
- WHEREAS, the scholarship program is named for Mrs. Gladys Cook, president of the
  DeKalb County Council from 1960-1962, in recognition of her work in the creation of this
  program, which was established for graduating seniors who planned to enter the teaching
  profession and who agreed to teach at least one year in DeKalb County after completing their
  college education; and
- 9 WHEREAS, in 1977, the criteria was changed and contributions were enough to allow one
- 10 graduating senior from each DeKalb County high school to be eligible to compete for this
- 11 scholarship and have the option of pursuing a variety of formal education programs; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the majority of the scholarship program is funded by the generous contributions
- 13 of local PTAs and the DeKalb Schools Employee Foundation; and
- WHEREAS, the applicant must be a graduating senior from a DeKalb County, Georgia, high
  school and a member of his or her school's PTA/PTSA; and
- WHEREAS, the sponsoring PTA/PTSA must be in good standing with the state PTA and the
  Council and must have contributed to the Gladys Cook Scholarship Fund in the current
  school year; and
- WHEREAS, the student applicant cannot have any disciplinary infractions during the 11thand 12th grades and must have a minimum GPA of 3.0.

- 21 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that 22 the members of this body commend Cayla Clark, Arabia Mountain High School; Chelsi 23 Harrison, McNair High School; Keith Strozier, Arabia Mountain High School; Jaquira Smith, Stephenson High School; Jonesha Davis, Cedar Grove High School; Xavier Phillips, Stone 24 Mountain High School; Shaidah Ehehosi, Clarkston High School; Dejah Jones, Tucker High 25 School; Urmila Poudel, Clarkston High School; Phong Le, Tucker High School; Tanzania 26 Walker, Columbia High School; Catherine Pribbenow, Tucker High School; Yotam Ghebre, 27 DeKalb Early College Academy; Leila Hart, DeKalb Early College Academy; Cana MGhee, 28 Lakeside High School; and Leonard Simmons, Lithonia High School, for being awarded the 29 Gladys Cook Scholarship and extend their sincerest best wishes for future success. 30
- 31 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 32 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 33 Gladys Cook Scholarship recipients named herein.