## House Resolution 896

By: Representatives Coleman of the 97<sup>th</sup>, Clark of the 101<sup>st</sup>, Maxwell of the 17<sup>th</sup>, Dickson of the 6<sup>th</sup>, Beskin of the 54<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending Georgia's 2015 Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholars; and for other 2 purposes

2 purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June, 1999,

4 to provide charitable support to the communities where its customers and employees live,

5 work, and raise families; and

6 WHEREAS, the Comcast Foundation is committed to building tomorrow's leaders; and

WHEREAS, each year, Comcast and the Comcast Foundation ask high school principals and
guidance counselors to collaborate in identifying the best and the brightest high school
seniors in their communities who demonstrate commitment to community service,
academics, and demonstrated leadership; and

WHEREAS, Comcast and the Comcast Foundation want to motivate young people to achieve their potential, to be involved in their schools, and to be catalysts for positive change

13 in their communities; and

WHEREAS, the Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program recognizes students
who exemplify these ideals and who serve as models for their fellow students; and

WHEREAS, the Comcast Foundation, through the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program, recognizes awardees of the scholarship by providing each with a one-time grant of \$1,000.00 to attend an accredited, nonprofit college, university, or vocational/technical school in the United States; and

- 20 WHEREAS, eighty-four Georgia high school seniors have been named the 2015 Comcast
- 21 Leaders & Achievers Scholars; these students are involved in their schools and communities
- 22 and exemplify the qualities of true leaders; and

23 WHEREAS, the names of these individuals are: Aaron Reynolds, Adrianna Hanebrink, Aisvarya Panakam, Alexis Ficklin, A'Lexxuis Combs, Annah Shearouse, Armani Caldwell, 24 25 Austin Sylvia, Austin Wang, Avery Johnson, Aydreon Wynn, Brian Grasso, Brianna Brown, 26 Caitlyn Smith, Camille Hayes, Charbornay Johnson, Chelsea Pierce, Christiana Oshotse, Clay Cabrera, Cole Coston, Corienne Garbison, Daniel Scurry, Daniel Ortegon, Daryl 27 28 Mitchell, Denika Nickeo, Destiny Robinson, D'Khorvillyn Tyus, Dylan Dempsey, Enock 29 Tokpa, Eugie Song, Eva Knoche, Fabiola Lozano, Hannah Ludy, Hannah Attaway, Hannah Hooper, Ifenioluwa Onigbanjo, Isaac Van Puffelen, Ivy Harris, Ivy Evatt, Jacob Huffine, 30 31 JaMikael Kitt, Jasmine Reyes, Jessica Copenhaver, John Busby, Joshua Bryan-Ventura, Kathryn Mancill, Katie Reed, Katie Wells, Kavon Bryant, Kelly Azbell, Kenyatta Cooper, 32 33 Kenyatta Mallory, Kingston Handley, Kiva Thompson, Kristen McClelland, Laura Per-Lee, 34 Lauren Dinges, Leslie Wattley, Madison Loftin, Madison Walsh, Maleka Nozile, Maliah Johnson, Maya Hardrick, Meagan Szydzik, Megan Cohen, Meghan Nay, Michelle Roberts, 35 Nadia George, Rachel Garland, Rachel Jochimsen, Roysheda Tarver, Ryan Jackson, 36 37 Samantha Kaczaral, Sarah Calloway, Sarah Enterkin, Serah Okeke, Steven Moser, Tiffany Fomby, Tyler Gibson, Valerie Peulausk, Vanessa Rodriguez-Badillo, Viridiana Fuentes, 38 39 Vivian Vo, and Wallis Cobert; and

40 WHERAS, the great State of Georgia is a champion of supporting the dreams of its youth,

- 41 and it is abundantly fitting and proper for this body to recognize the efforts of these current
- 42 and future Georgia leaders.
- 43 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- $44 \quad the \,members \,of \,this \,body \,commend \,Georgia's \,2015 \,Comcast \,Leaders \,and \,Achievers \,Scholars$
- 45 for their leadership skills.

46 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized

- 47 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 48 above-named 2015 Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholars.