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ADOPTED

Senators Hill of the 32nd and Thompson of the 14th offers the following amendment:

Amend HB 48 (LC 39 0981S) by inserting after "plate;" on line 12 "to provide for a special1

and distinctive motor vehicle license plate for members of the Georgia State Defense Force;".2

By inserting after line 106 the following:3

SECTION 2.1.4

Said article is further amended by revising Code Section 40-2-81, which was previously5

reserved, as follows:6

"40-2-81.7

(a)  For purposes of this Code section, the term 'Georgia State Defense Force' means that8

organization established pursuant to Part 3 of Article 1 of Chapter 2 of Title 38.9

(b)(1)  Motor vehicle and trailer owners who are members of the Georgia State Defense10

Force shall be eligible to receive special and distinctive vehicle license plates for private11

passenger cars, trucks, motorcycles, or recreational vehicles used for personal12

transportation.  Such license plates shall be issued in compliance with the state motor13

vehicle laws relating to registration and licensing of motor vehicles as prescribed in14

Article 2 of this chapter.15

(2)(A)  Motor vehicle and trailer owners who are members of the Georgia State16

Defense Force shall be issued upon application for and upon compliance with the state17

motor vehicle laws relating to registration and licensing of motor vehicles a Georgia18

State Defense Force member license plate.  One such license plate shall be issued19

without the requisite registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual registration fee.20

(B)  Each member of the Georgia State Defense Force shall be entitled to no more than21

one such free license plate at a time; provided, however, that upon payment of a22

manufacturing fee of $25.00, a member shall be entitled to one additional such license23

plate.  For each additional license plate for which a $25.00 manufacturing fee is24

required, there shall be an additional annual registration fee of $25.00 which fee shall25

be collected by the county tag agent at the time of collection of other registration fees26

and shall be remitted to the state as provided in Code Section 40-2-34.27

(c)  The commissioner shall design a Georgia State Defense Force member license plate.28

The commissioner shall promulgate such rules and regulations as may be necessary to29

enforce compliance with all state license laws relating to the use and operation of private30

passenger cars, trucks, motorcycles, and trailers before issuing these license plates in lieu31
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of the regular Georgia license plates.  The manufacturing fee for such special and32

distinctive license plates shall be $25.00.  The commissioner is specifically authorized to33

promulgate all rules and regulations necessary to ensure compliance in instances where34

such vehicles have been transferred or sold.  Such plates shall be nontransferable.35

(d)  The special and distinctive vehicle license plates shall be as prescribed in Article 2 of36

this chapter for private passenger cars, trucks, motorcycles, and trailers used for personal37

transportation.  Such plates shall contain such words or symbols, in addition to the numbers38

and letters prescribed by law, so as to identify distinctively the owners as members of the39

Georgia State Defense Force.40

(e)  The license plate issued pursuant to this Code section may be transferred between41

vehicles as provided in Code Section 40-2-80.42

(f)  Special license plates issued under this Code section, except as provided in43

subparagraph (b)(2)(A) of this Code section, shall be renewed annually with a revalidation44

decal as provided in Code Section 40-2-31 without payment of an additional $25.00 annual45

registration fee.46

(g)  Should a member of the Georgia State Defense Force who has been issued a license47

plate or license plates be discharged or otherwise separated from the Georgia State Defense48

Force, the member shall forward his or her Georgia State Defense Force member license49

plate or plates to the commissioner along with a certificate to the effect that such person50

has been discharged or otherwise separated from the Georgia State Defense Force, and51

thereupon the commissioner shall issue a regular license plate, at no additional charge, to52

such former member of the Georgia State Defense Force to replace the Georgia State53

Defense Force member plate or platesReserved."54


