## House Resolution 857

By: Representatives Dickson of the 6<sup>th</sup>, Broadrick of the 4<sup>th</sup>, and Meadows of the 5<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating the Dalton State College basketball team for winning the 2015 NAIA national

2 championship game; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, through perseverance, countless hours of practice, and unyielding 4 determination, in its first year of championship eligibility, the Dalton State College 5 basketball team outscored the Westmont College team 71-53 to win the NAIA national 6 championship at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri; and

WHEREAS, the Dalton State College basketball program was disbanded 35 years ago and
was reinstated only last season, and the Dalton State Roadrunners are the first team to play
in and win its first national championship tournament since 1983; and

WHEREAS, Dalton State College is the third team in the 16 year history of the NAIA's
Southern States Athletic Conference to reach the national championship's final game; and

WHEREAS, players Jordan Bowling, Anthony Hilliard, Sean Tate, Preston Earle, and
Ladaris Green played with excellence and determination, leading the team to its outstanding
victory; and

15 WHEREAS, Dalton State's team made more free throws (91) during the national16 championship tournament than its opponents attempted (76); and

WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding
athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each
member of the team and their coach, Tony Ingle; and

WHEREAS, the Dalton State Roadrunners finished their inaugural season tournament with
a 5-0 record on the way to winning their first-ever national championship; and

15

- 22 WHEREAS, junior forward Jordan Bowling was honored as the NAIA Division I Men's
- 23 Basketball National Championship Tournament's Most Valuable Player after averaging 17
- 24 points in Dalton State's five national championship tournament games and scoring 18 points
- 25 in the national championship final game; and
- WHEREAS, junior forward Jordan Bowling and senior forward Preston Earle were named
  to the NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship All-Tournament Team; and
- 28 WHEREAS, senior forward Ladaris Green was named the Southern States Athletic
- 29 Conference Player of the Year and an NAIA Division I Men's Basketball All-American; and
- WHEREAS, senior guard Sean Tate was named an NAIA Division I Men's BasketballAll-American; and
- WHEREAS, the administration, faculty, fans, and boosters of Dalton State College served
  as a constant source of support and encouragement for the Roadrunners and Coach Tony
  Ingle: and
- 34 Ingle; and
- WHEREAS, Dalton State head coach Tony Ingle was named the 2014-2015 Rawlings-NAIA
  Division I Men's Basketball Coach of the Year; and
- WHEREAS, each magnificent team member earned his well-deserved reputation for
  excellence by performing with courage and precision over months of training and
  competition, and it is abundantly proper to call them champions.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
  GEORGIA that the members of this body join in congratulating the Dalton State College
  basketball team for winning the 2015 NAIA national championship and extend their most
  sincere best wishes for future success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
  and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the
  Dalton State College basketball team.