15 LC 107 0133

House Resolution 134

By: Representatives Chandler of the 105th, Clark of the 101st, Nix of the 69th, Coleman of the 97th, Taylor of the 173rd, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing the week of February 2-6, 2015, as National School Counseling Week and
- 2 inviting Jennifer Diaz, Stacey Miller, Gail Smith, Dr. Myrel Seigler, and Julie Hartline to be
- 3 recognized by the House of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, National School Counseling Week 2015, "Celebrate School Counseling," is
- 5 focusing public attention on the unique contributions school counselors make in helping
- 6 students achieve academic success, plan for the future and explore their interests, abilities,
- 7 and talents as these traits relate to career awareness and development; and
- 8 WHEREAS, school counselors also work with parents, faculty members, and community
- 9 leaders to help students explore their potential and set realistic goals for themselves; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Georgia School Counselors Association wants to recognize the
- 11 achievements of Jennifer Diaz who was one of five national semi-finalists for the American
- 12 School Counselors Association's 2014 Counselor of the Year, Stacey Miller who is the
- 13 Georgia School Counselor Association's 2014-15 Counselor of the Year, and Gail Smith who
- 14 received the Carl Perkins Award from the American Counseling Association; and
- 15 WHEREAS, comprehensive, developmental school counseling programs are considered an
- 16 integral part of the educational process that enables all students to achieve success in school.
- 17 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 18 the members of this body recognize the week of February 2-6, 2015, as National School
- 19 Counseling Week and invite Jennifer Diaz, Stacey Miller, Gail Smith, Dr. Myrel Seigler, and
- 20 Julie Hartline to be recognized by the House of Representatives at a date and time to be
- 21 determined by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

15 LC 107 0133

22 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized

- 23 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
- 24 Jennifer Diaz, Stacey Miller, Gail Smith, Dr. Myrel Seigler, and Julie Hartline.