Senate Resolution 1210 By: Senators Jones of the 25th and Jeffares of the 17th

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the Morgan County High School varsity basketball team; and

2 for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the Morgan County High School varsity basketball team won its first state title
in boys basketball in the history of the school; and

5 WHEREAS, the Georgia High School Association championship games were held March
6 -8, 2014, in Macon, Georgia, at the Macon Coliseum; and

7 WHEREAS, Morgan County defeated Buford High School 69-45 to secure the Class AAA

8 State Championship; and

9 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding

10 athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each

11 member of the team; and

WHEREAS, the team is composed of Tookie Brown, Davon Gibbs, Jaylin Ingram,
Deverious Brown, CJ Turman, Joseph Rogers, TJ Starks, Donta Moore, Trey Chapman,
Tyler Benford, Jordan Green, CeDe Reynolds, Juwan Edwards, and coaches Charlemagne
Gibbons, Jonathan Nelson, Wally West, and Milfred Franklin; and

WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by performing with precision and dedication over months of training and competition, it is abundantly proper to call them champions.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
commend the Morgan County High School varsity basketball team for winning the Class
AAA State Championship.

- 22 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 23 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Morgan County High School varsity
- 24 basketball team.