14 LC 103 0604

House Resolution 1791

By: Representatives Waites of the 60th, Brooks of the 55th, Jones of the 53rd, and Thomas of the 56th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending SamVerly College, its past graduates, and its current students;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, SamVerly, Inc., began doing business as SamVerly College, Barbering &
- 4 Hairstyling, on April 1, 1979, when the first student was enrolled in Greenville, Mississippi;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, soon after, additional school locations were opened in Cleveland and Meridian,
- 7 Mississippi, and SamVerly College became the primary trainer of barbers and hairstylists in
- 8 the tri-state region of Mississippi, Arkansas, and Louisiana; and
- 9 WHEREAS, on January 5, 1984, the first student was enrolled in its Atlanta, Georgia,
- 10 facility, which is now part of the famed Underground Atlanta District, and SamVerly College
- 11 relocated to the historic Martin Luther King, Jr., District in downtown Atlanta on April 1,
- 12 1992; and
- 13 WHEREAS, a second metropolitan Atlanta location was available in Decatur from
- 14 December, 1992, through October, 1997, to meet the increased enrollment demand during
- 15 that time period; and
- 16 WHEREAS, since moving to Atlanta, the management and staff of SamVerly College have
- 17 endeavored to make the school one of the leading barbering and hairstyling schools in the
- 18 region; and
- 19 WHEREAS, through a diverse clientele and nurturing atmosphere, SamVerly's students are
- 20 given thorough, hands-on training, and SamVerly's customers receive a pleasant and
- 21 professional experience due to the college's emphasis on quality and customer service; and

14 LC 103 0604

WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of

- 23 SamVerly College's past graduates and current students be appropriately recognized; and
- 24 WHEREAS, SamVerly's past graduates include Brad Alston, Jashia Davis, Dwayne Ford,
- 25 Alvin Hall, Kathy Jackson, Byron Oakman, Guy Stewart, Leon Stephens, Jeffery Stephens,
- 26 Robert Stewart, Buford Lewis, Joe Lankford, Javance Lawton, Gregory Moss, Timothy
- 27 Smith, Dwight Williams, Andre Crowley, Thomas Bryson, Regenal Smith, Marquis Martin,
- 28 Franklin Brooks, Lavon Rogers, Angel Jones, Rodney Wiley, Roger McFarlane, and Steve
- 29 Lipscomb; and
- 30 WHEREAS, SamVerly's current students include Charlie Abney, Bobby Alexander, Detroy
- 31 Armour, Edmond Banks, Addison Blackmon, Shun Buckhaulter, Anthony Campbell, Earl
- 32 Carter, Kenneth Creech, Jerry Dargin, Khiree Davenport, Willie Davis, Brian Duncan, Davis
- 33 Eiland, Robert Gallaway, Kenneth Gordon, Clark Green, Andre Hancock, Isadore Harden,
- 34 Maurice Harrison, Ard Hodore, John Hogan, Karlie Howard, Ovid Hughes, Carl Hughley,
- 35 Curtis Jackson, Milton James, Hermine Johnson, Harold Johnson, Joe King, Randall Knope,
- 36 Raymond Lambert, Alexander Little, Michael Henderson, John Hogan, Robert King, James
- 37 Lyons, Timothy Matthews, Antonio McBride, Cedric Merritt, Stephon Moore, Harvey
- 38 Paschal, George Perdue, James Perryman, Gregory Pittman, Wayne Powell, Anthony Purdie,
- 39 Walter Randall, Oscar Randall, Donald Robinson, Isadore Royals, Rodricus Shealey, Oy
- 40 Smith, Dana Smith, Robert Wescott, Gary Wilcher, and Victor Winfrey.
- 41 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 42 the members of this body recognize and commend SamVerly College, its past graduates, and
- 43 its current students for their outstanding accomplishments.
- 44 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to SamVerly College.