House Resolution 1792

By: Representatives Waites of the 60th, Brooks of the 55th, Jones of the 53rd, and Thomas of the 56th

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending SamVerly College's past graduates and current students; and

2 for other purposes.

WHEREAS, SamVerly, Inc., began doing business as SamVerly College, Barbering &
Hairstyling, on April 1, 1979, when the first student was enrolled in Greenville, Mississippi;
and

6 WHEREAS, through a diverse clientele and nurturing atmosphere, SamVerly's students are
7 given thorough, hands-on training, and SamVerly's customers receive a pleasant and
8 professional experience due to the college's emphasis on quality and customer service; and

9 WHEREAS, under the astute leadership of master instructor Niger Purdie, president and

10 director Beverly Purdie, and owner Sam Purdie, SamVerly College has provided 35 years

11 of outstanding barbering and cosmetology training and is one of the leading barbering and

12 hairstyling schools in the Southeast; and

13 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of

14 SamVerly College's past graduates and current students be appropriately recognized; and

WHEREAS, SamVerly's past graduates include Brad Alston, Jashia Davis, Dwayne Ford,
Alvin Hall, Kathy Jackson, Byron Oakman, Guy Stewart, Leon Stephens, Jeffery Stephens,
Robert Stewart, Buford Lewis, Joe Lankford, Javance Lawton, Gregory Moss, Timothy
Smith, Dwight Williams, Andre Crowley, Thomas Bryson, Regenal Smith, Marquis Martin,
Franklin Brooks, Lavon Rogers, Angel Jones, Rodney Wiley, Roger McFarlane, and Steve
Lipscomb; and

- 21 WHEREAS, SamVerly's current students include Charlie Abney, Bobby Alexander, Detroy
- 22 Armour, Edmond Banks, Addison Blackmon, Shun Buckhaulter, Anthony Campbell, Earl
- 23 Carter, Kenneth Creech, Jerry Dargin, Khiree Davenport, Willie Davis, Brian Duncan, Davis

- 24 Eiland, Robert Gallaway, Kenneth Gordon, Clark Green, Andre Hancock, Isadore Harden,
- 25 Maurice Harrison, Ard Hodore, John Hogan, Karlie Howard, Ovid Hughes, Carl Hughley,
- 26 Curtis Jackson, Milton James, Hermine Johnson, Harold Johnson, Joe King, Randall Knope,
- 27 Raymond Lambert, Alexander Little, Michael Henderson, John Hogan, Robert King, James
- 28 Lyons, Timothy Matthews, Antonio McBride, Cedric Merritt, Stephon Moore, Harvey
- 29 Paschal, George Perdue, James Perryman, Gregory Pittman, Wayne Powell, Anthony Purdie,
- 30 Walter Randall, Oscar Randall, Donald Robinson, Isadore Royals, Rodricus Shealey, Oy
- 31 Smith, Dana Smith, Robert Wescott, Gary Wilcher, and Victor Winfrey.
- $32 \qquad \text{NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that}$
- 33 the members of this body recognize and commend SamVerly College's past graduates and
- 34 current students for their outstanding accomplishments.
- 35 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 36 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to SamVerly College.