14 LC 25 6357

House Resolution 1624

By: Representative Ralston of the 7th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the House Interns for the 2014 Regular Session; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the Georgia Legislative Internship Program is one of the nation's oldest
- 3 educational internships to focus on the state legislative process; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the internship program is a cooperative venture between the Georgia General
- 5 Assembly and institutions of higher learning in Georgia; and it provides a select group of
- 6 students in-depth exposure to the House and the Senate by assigning them to assist key
- 7 standing committees and legislative leaders; and
- 8 WHEREAS, 2014 marks the ninth year of the Georgia House of Representatives Speaker's
- 9 Internship Program, giving students chosen for the program an opportunity to be involved
- 10 first-hand in the important work of this body; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the 24 students selected for the House Legislative Internship Program, the
- 12 Speaker's Internship Program, and the University of Georgia Family and Consumer Science
- 13 Program represent some of the best and the brightest college students in our state who share
- 14 a genuine interest in the lawmaking process and a potential commitment to public service;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, participants in this outstanding program are students from Kennesaw State
- 17 University, University of Georgia, Georgia Institute of Technology, Fort Valley State
- 18 University, Georgia State University, University of North Georgia, Georgia College & State
- 19 University, Georgia Southern University, Wesleyan College, and Chattahoochee Technical
- 20 College; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the unique experience of participating as a House Intern has undoubtedly
- 22 enriched the academic study these college students have completed; and

14 LC 25 6357

WHEREAS, the members of the standing committees and legislative leaders benefited

- 24 greatly from the service of these interns and salute each of these students on a job well done:
- 25 Interns Sirraya Billings, Luke Boggs, Laura Margaret Burbach, Aaron Coleman, Weston
- 26 Dean, Jordan Galehan, George Graves, Taylor Gray, Reagan Griggs, Alexandria Hurt,
- 27 Reginald Johnson, Kimberly Miller, Taylor Orgeron, Oja Pathak, Elijah Porter, Tyler Rising,
- 28 Austin Romeo, Julie Roser, Linda Spector-Boehringer, Grant Thomas, Brittany Waters,
- 29 Matthew Withers, TJ Fallaw, and Phillip Howe.
- 30 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 31 this body commends the House Interns for the 2014 Regular Session on their superb
- 32 performance and conveys its best wishes to them for success in their future pursuits.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 34 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to each of the interns named
- 35 herein.