14 LC 21 2513

Senate Resolution 1110

By: Senators Harbison of the 15th and McKoon of the 29th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Muscogee County School District 2014 Teacher of the Year nominees; and
- 2 for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Muscogee County School District's 2014 Teacher of the Year nominees
- 4 were presented February 5, 2014, during a ceremony in the Columbus Public Library; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the faculty at each of the district's 57 schools and centers selected a teacher for
- 6 the Teacher of the Year program, conducted by the Muscogee Educational Excellence
- 7 Foundation; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the winner will be announced May 1 at the annual gala in the Columbus
- 9 Convention & Trade Center, and before then, the nominees will be treated to a breakfast with
- 10 the national teacher of the year in March; and
- WHEREAS, this year's nominees include Aaron Cohn Middle: Amanda Reynolds; Allen
- 12 Elementary: Bruce Fussell; Arnold Magnet Academy: Darlene Cook; Baker Middle: Latshia
- 13 Stephens-Archibald; Blackmon Road Middle: Laura Perryman; Blanchard Elementary:
- 14 Monica Harris; Brewer Elementary: Amelia Hall; Britt David Magnet Academy: Susan
- 15 DuBois; Carver High: Pierre Coffey; Clubview Elementary: Min Hae Hernandez; Columbus
- 16 High: Maribeth Hood; Cusseta Road Elementary: Shantae Crawford; Davis Elementary:
- 17 Tosha Leake; Dawson Elementary: Dionne Winston-Bolden; Dimon Elementary Magnet
- 18 Academy: Dacia Irvin; Double Churches Elementary: Valerie Black; Double Churches
- 19 Middle: Melissa Gray; Downtown Elementary Magnet Academy: Courtney Heath; Eagle
- 20 Ridge Academy: Charlotte Mills; Early College Academy: Tekeshia Hill; East Columbus
- 21 Magnet Academy: Courtney Thornton; Eddy Middle: Angeleque Johnson-Borom; Edgewood
- 22 Student Services Center: Dianne White; Forrest Road Elementary: Bethany Getz; Fort
- 23 Middle: Madeline Boykin; Fox Elementary: Myya Washington; Gentian Elementary: Paige
- 24 Bowden; Georgetown Elementary: Jeremy Williams; Hannan Elementary Magnet Academy:
- 25 Ashley Davis; Hardaway High: Charmaine Martin; Johnson Elementary: Jeremiah Edwards;

14 LC 21 2513

26 Jordan High: Robert Harris; Kendrick High: Angela Josey; Key Elementary: Sherah Cash;

- 27 Lonnie Jackson Academy: Stephanie Jones; Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary: Yolanda
- 28 Arnold; Mathews Elementary: Pamela Weldon; Midland Academy: Brandy Sipling; Midland
- 29 Middle: Kimberly Martin; Muscogee Elementary: Todernesia Ford; North Columbus
- 30 Elementary: Kristin Glenn; Northside High: Tamara Garner; Reese Road Leadership
- 31 Academy: Laura Leigh Rucker; Richards Middle: Melissa Phelps; Rigdon Road Elementary:
- 32 Lydia Winston; River Road Elementary: Danielle Graves; Rothschild Leadership Academy:
- 33 Shirley Jernegons-Love; Shaw High: Christie Leveille; South Columbus Elementary:
- 34 Donessa Moore; Spencer High: Dolly Baker; St. Elmo Center for the Gifted: Barry Cosby;
- 35 St. Marys Road Magnet Academy: Shandreka West; Veterans Memorial Middle: Kelly
- 36 Roberts; Waddell Elementary: Anna Walden; Wesley Heights Elementary: Angel Vines;
- 37 Woodall Program: Teresa O'Donnell; and Wynnton Arts Academy: Stacey McClary.
- 38 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 39 commend the Muscogee County School District 2014 Teacher of the Year nominees.
- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 41 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Muscogee County School District
- 42 2014 Teacher of the Year nominees.