14 LC 103 0565

Senate Resolution 1076

By: Senators Tolleson of the 20th, Golden of the 8th, Ligon, Jr. of the 3rd and Harper of the 7th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending and recognizing the Satilla District for being named the Georgia Forestry
- 2 Commission 2013 District of the Year; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is to provide leadership,
- 4 service and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources; and
- 5 WHEREAS, each year one forestry district is selected as Georgia Forestry Commission's
- 6 District of the Year based on 50 measures of accomplishments that include: customer
- 7 satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged,
- 8 facility appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Satilla District reduced the average wildfire size by 20 percent, increased
- 10 pre-suppression firebreak plowing by 33 percent, increased assistance to landowners
- performing prescribed burns by 143 percent, sold and delivered to landowners 3,459,450
- seedlings, worked with private landowners on 34 percent more forest management cases, and
- 13 exceeded the statewide average in forestry related educational programs; and
- 14 WHEREAS, in addition to the above listed accomplishments, the Satilla District maintained
- outstanding wildfire protection of the district's 3,856,860 forested acres, responding to 505
- wildfires that burned 2,157 acres for an average fire size of 4.27 acres; and
- 17 WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Satilla District in the year
- 18 2013, the district was selected as Georgia Forestry Commission District of the Year; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the recognized district is comprised of Rangers Timothy Crosby, Danny Rowe,
- 20 Ronnie Taylor, Joshua Yawn, Darwin Corbitt, Derek Harper, Kevin Pittman, Trey Spivey
- 21 III, Clayton Davis, Michael Nix, Randy Spell, Christopher C. Carter, Christopher J. Carter,
- 22 Mitchell Daniels, Logan Edgy, Donald James, David Westberry, Frank Allen III, James
- 23 Armstrong, Jason Harris, Matt Laricos, Marvin Miller, Timothy Redick, Chad Hester, Ethan

14 LC 103 0565

24 Powell, William Rodgers, Woody Woods, Kenny Cox, Staten Levings III, Tad Littleton,

- 25 Zach Mullis, Buster Croft, Blakely Littleton, Jonathan Livingston, Chris Rigg, James Sikes,
- 26 Darren Vaughn, Kenneth Wells Jr., Berry Bohannon, David Rewis, Dale Arnold, Hilton
- 27 Bennett, Eric Smith, Tony Thomas, James Anderson, Jonathan Herrin, Teressa Moore, and
- 28 Dustin Ogden; Supplemental Firefighters William Greene, Benjamin Amiot, Mike Foreman,
- 29 Steve Miller, Timmy Lee, Darin Russ, Billy Young, Jamie Braddy, and Ethan Boatright;
- 30 County Clerks/Tower Operators Heather Musgrove, Nikki Scott, Pam Lusher and Jennifer
- 31 Evans; Chief Rangers James Rewis, James Smith, Blair Joiner, Barry Rowell, Wes Merkison,
- 32 Stephen Spradley, Jason Squires, Duke Campbell, Thomas Whitley, and Derrick Duncan;
- 33 Foresters William Harvey and Ethan Robertson; and District Staff Jessica Lee, Bo Chesser,
- 34 Buck Kline, and Jason Gillis; and
- 35 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Satilla District are a clear indication of the hard
- 36 work, dedication, and team work present in the district, the ability of district personnel to
- 37 meet increased demand for services by working together with fewer resources, and the
- 38 district's commitment to continually showing loyalty to customers and communities; and
- 39 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Satilla District bring great pride upon the
- 40 professionals within the district, the citizens of the district, the Georgia Forestry
- 41 Commission, and the State of Georgia.
- 42 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 43 commend and recognize the Satilla District for being named the Georgia Forestry
- 44 Commission 2013 District of the Year.
- 45 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 46 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Jason Gillis.