## House Resolution 1399

By: Representatives Morris of the 156<sup>th</sup>, Pruett of the 149<sup>th</sup>, Roberts of the 155<sup>th</sup>, and Sims of the 169<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and Mr. Oakley Perry, Mr. Arch Smith, and the
- 2 2013-2014 4-H Leadership Team and recognizing February 24, 2014, as 4-H Day at the state
- 3 capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and

7 WHEREAS, Mr. Oakley Perry of Jeff Davis County serves with distinction and dedication
8 as State 4-H President; and

- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and State
- 10 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Anna Holcombe of Hart County,
- 12 Matthew Pryor of Bartow County, Bryce Johnson of Screven County, and Hannah Rucker
- 13 of Tift County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in
- 14 their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2013-2014; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Ryan
- 16 Rose of Columbia County, Tifara Brown of Ben Hill County, Gracie Rowe of Heard County,
- 17 and Altimease Lowe were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2013 National 4-H
- 18 Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Savannah Lockman of Oconee County and Whitney Kirkpatrick of Coweta
- 20 County were named 2013 Leadership in Action Winners; and

14

14

- 21 WHEREAS, Ryan Rose of Columbia County, Hannah Rull of Paulding County, Michael
- 22 Woods of Hancock County, Kirsten Morris of Chatham County, and Camilla Summerford
- 23 of Lowndes County were named state winners in the 2013 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Claire Livingston of Douglas County was declared champion of the 2014
- 25 National 4-H Family and Consumer Sciences Presentation Contest at the Western National
- 26 Roundup in Denver, Colorado; and
- 27 WHEREAS, the Tift County National 4-H Poultry Judging Team composed of Ben Branch,
- 28 Carolina Carter, Michaela Lubbers, and Miles McDonald were declared 2013 National 4-H
- 29 Poultry Judging Champions at the 2013 National 4-H Poultry and Egg Conference in
- 30 Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 31 WHEREAS, the Oconee County National 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl Team composed of Jared
- 32 Daniel, Godfrey Hendrix, Colton Lowder, and Meghan Mitchell were declared 2013 North
- 33 American 4-H Invitation Dairy Quiz Bowl Champions at the Dairy Quiz Bowl in Louisville,
- 34 Kentucky.

## 35 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

- 36 the members of this body commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 37 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Oakley Perry, State 4-H Club President; Mr. Arch
- 37 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Oakley Perry, State 4-H Club President; Mr. Arch
- 38 Smith, State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2013-2014 4-H district presidents; 2013 Dean's
- 39 Awards winners; 2013 National 4-H Conference delegates; 2013 Leadership in Action
- 40 winners; 2014 National 4-H Family and Consumer Sciences Presentation Champion; 2013
- 41 National 4-H Poultry Judging Champions; and the 2013 North American 4-H Invitation
- 42 Dairy Quiz Bowl Champions for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership that
- 43 they have demonstrated.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of this body recognize February 24, 2014,
  as 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
  and directed to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to the University of Georgia
  Cooperative Extension, the 4-H Clubs of Georgia, Mr. Oakley Perry, Mr. Arch Smith, and
  the 2013-2014 4-H Leadership Team.