## House Resolution 936

By: Representatives Buckner of the 137<sup>th</sup>, Smyre of the 135<sup>th</sup>, Hugley of the 136<sup>th</sup>, Smith of the 134<sup>th</sup>, and Pezold of the 133<sup>rd</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

- Recognizing and commending Jennifer Sappington, semifinalist for 2013 Muscogee County 1
- 2 School District Teacher of the Year; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, a proper quality education for the young people of this state is the single most 4 important objective of the General Assembly; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the Muscogee Education Excellence Foundation (MEEF) is a nonprofit 6 organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by focusing on individual teachers
- 7 who are innovative and exceptionally effective in their profession; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the foundation has awarded more than \$1.5 million to teachers through financial
- incentives in the Teacher of the Year program, the MEEF Grant program, and the MEEF 9
- 10 Endowment Fund; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Janet Davis is chairwoman of the selection committee, which also includes
- 12 Debbie Caballero, Colby Cardin, Travis Chambers, Debra Everett, Tom Hackett, Paul
- 13 Hampton, Christine Powell, and Tom Titus; and
- 14 WHEREAS, nominees are determined by each of the district's schools and will be honored
- 15 throughout the year, including breakfast with the National Teacher of the Year in March and
- culminating with the MCSD Teacher of the Year gala on May 2, 2013; and 16
- 17 WHEREAS, Jennifer Sappington is a civics, U.S. history, and world history teacher at
- Northside High and a semifinalist for 2013 Muscogee County School District Teacher of the 18
- Year; and 19
- 20 WHEREAS, the devotion to providing the students of Georgia with a quality education
- demonstrated by Jennifer Sappington is worthy of recognition. 21

13

- 22 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- the members of this body commend heartily Jennifer Sappington as a semifinalist for 2013
- 24 Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year and express to her their most sincere
- 25 best wishes for continued success in the future.
- 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Jennifer Sappington.