House Resolution 784

By: Representatives Stovall of the 74th, Glanton of the 75th, Jordan of the 77th, Scott of the 76th, and Douglas of the 78th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Clayton State University women's basketball team on winning the NCAA
- 2 Division II Southeast Regional Championship; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Lakers are ranked number one in the nation in Division II Women's 4 Basketball and have achieved that recognition through dedication, perseverance, and 5 teamwork; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the Lakers won the NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Final by defeating
 7 Limestone College 87 to 65; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Lakers are the 2013 champions of the Peach Belt Conference and the Peach
 9 Belt Conference tournament; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Lakers are the only undefeated basketball team in NCAA Division I or
- 11 Division II, with a record of 32-0; and
- WHEREAS, the Southeast Region champions include: Arkia Armstrong, Jessica Covington,
 Drameka Griggs, Shacamra Jackson, Shannon Smith, Bena Hanyard, Kayla Pryce, Keona
 Dixon, Shadawn Clanton, Kayla Mobley, Shakira Allen, Auburn Randolph, and Celecia
 Horsley; and
- WHEREAS, the performance of the team is the result of the outstanding athletic ability, hard
 work, unity of purpose, and competitive spirit of each and every member of the team and
 coaching staff; and
- WHEREAS, Drameka Griggs has been named the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year,
 the Most Valuable Player in the Peach Belt Tournament, and the NCAA Division II
 Southeast Player of the Year; Kayla Mobley has been named the Outstanding Player of the
 Southeastern Regional Tournament; Shacamra Jackson has been named the Peach Belt

13

LC 102 0584

- 23 Conference Defensive Player of the Year; and Kayla Pryce has been named the Peach Belt
- 24 Conference Freshman of the Year; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the team is led by a phenomenal coaching staff, including Head Coach Dennis
- 26 Cox and Assistant Coaches Kaleena Coleman, Brittany Hall, and Shantel Ragin; and
- 27 WHEREAS, the Lakers proceed to the Elite Eight in San Antonio, Texas, to continue their
- 28 quest for a perfect season and a second national championship in three years.
- 29 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 30 the members of this body commend the Clayton State University women's basketball team
- 31 for a successful season and cheer for their successful acquisition of another NCAA Division
- 32 II National Championship title.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 34 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Clayton State University
- 35 and Head Coach Dennis Cox.