13 LC 100 0467

Senate Resolution 562

By: Senators Gooch of the 51st, Miller of the 49th, Mullis of the 53rd and Wilkinson of the 50th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the White County High School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team on their
- 2 first place win at the 2013 Student Television National Convention; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, in the school year 2010-2011, five students under the direction of Charles
- 4 Dewalt began to follow a dream to develop a web-based television network from White
- 5 County High School; and
- 6 WHEREAS, since the program began, its many accomplishments and recognitions have
- 7 caused it to grow to encompass more than 30 students; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the students of WTVN have produced, filmed, and anchored numerous football,
- 9 basketball, baseball, and softball games for White County High School as well as traveling
- 10 to other schools to film; they have also produced and narrated parades and covered numerous
- 11 political events in White County and Cleveland; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the White County High School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team took home
- the award for Best Overall Broadcasting, along with \$10,000 in prize money, from the 2013
- 14 Student Television National Convention in Los Angeles, California; and
- 15 WHEREAS, 2013 marks a continuation of victory and excellence for the White County High
- 16 School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team, as they brought home two first place awards and
- 17 \$10,000 in prize money from the 2012 convention in Dallas, Texas; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the team members who attended the competition include Justin Abad, Kayla
- 19 Everett, Cade Fortner, Breanna Harkins, Haley Haynes, John Jackson, Michael Kliewer,
- 20 Allie Mills, Tiara Olson, Kanan Patel, Kiran Patel, Samuel Pruitt, Casey Seabolt, Hannah
- 21 Skelton, Jordan Suggs, Taylor Usher, and Tanner Whitehead; and

13 LC 100 0467

22 WHEREAS, the incredible success of this exemplary team would not have been possible

- 23 without the astute direction and unyielding support of drama teacher Pete Taulton, Executive
- 24 Producer and WTVN Executive Director Charles Dewalt, White County Board of Education
- 25 member Nancy Wyszynski, White County School Superintendent Mr. Jeff Wilson, and
- 26 White County High School Principal Mr. John Osborn; and
- 27 WHEREAS, the perseverance and determination displayed by this exceptional group is an
- 28 example for all Georgians, and great success is surely in these students' futures.
- 29 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 30 congratulate the White County High School WTVN Warrior TV broadcast team on their first
- 31 place win at the 2013 Student Television National Convention, commend them for setting
- 32 a national standard through their commitment to excellence, and extend their sincere best
- 33 wishes for future success.
- 34 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 35 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the White County High School WTVN
- 36 Warrior TV broadcast team.