13 LC 37 1580S

House Resolution 502 (COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE)

By: Representatives Tanner of the 9th, Jones of the 47th, O`Neal of the 146th, Abrams of the 89th, Lindsey of the 54th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Creating the Joint Study Committee on Mental Health Access; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, during recent months, the citizens of this state have been saddened by tragedies
- 3 that have taken the lives of many innocent people; and
- 4 WHEREAS, many of these acts of violence have occurred in schools and communities and
- 5 caused increased concern for the safety of our children; and
- 6 WHEREAS, many of these tragedies were committed by individuals who may have had
- 7 mental illnesses; and
- 8 WHEREAS, a variety of factors contribute to many people with mental illnesses not
- 9 receiving adequate treatment, including stigma, limited public resources and workforce
- 10 challenges, and limited awareness of available services; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the state mental health system was historically based around institutions and is
- 12 transitioning to a community based model that must maintain adequate funding and other
- 13 resources to ensure easy access for individuals in need; and
- 14 WHEREAS, a significant number of the individuals incarcerated in our jails and prisons have
- 15 untreated mental illnesses which are exacerbated by their abuse of drugs, the effect of
- 16 prescription drugs, their failure to take prescribed medication, or a combination of such
- 17 factors; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the courts have undertaken efforts to deal with this situation through the HELP
- 19 courts, but this is a new and developing area in this state; and

13 LC 37 1580S

20 WHEREAS, efforts need to be undertaken to ensure the safety of our schools and

- 21 communities but not at the cost of the loss of the liberties guaranteed by the Constitution of
- 22 the United States; and
- WHEREAS, a study of the efforts in treating mentally ill individuals in this state needs to be
- 24 undertaken with a focus on examining community infrastructure, crisis services, provision
- of services across the life span from youth to older adults, geographic gaps and diversity,
- 26 workforce needs, provider network development and accountability, funding and the need
- 27 to keep dollars within the system as we transition away from hospital based delivery models
- 28 of treatment, and support services.
- 29 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GEORGIA GENERAL ASSEMBLY
- 30 that there is created the Joint Study Committee on Mental Health Access to be composed of
- 31 nine members, three members of the House of Representatives to be appointed by the
- 32 Speaker of the House of Representatives, one of whom shall be from the minority party;
- 33 three members of the Senate to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor, one of whom shall
- 34 be appointed from the minority party; and three members to be appointed by the Governor.
- 35 The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall designate one of the appointees from the
- 36 House of Representatives as a cochairperson, and the Lieutenant Governor shall designate
- one of the appointees from the Senate as a cochairperson. The committee shall meet at the
- 38 call of the cochairpersons.
- 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the committee shall undertake a study of the conditions,
- 40 needs, issues, and problems mentioned above or related thereto and recommend any actions
- 41 or legislation which the committee deems necessary or appropriate. The committee may
- 42 conduct such meetings at such places and at such times as it may deem necessary or
- 43 convenient to enable it to exercise fully and effectively its powers, perform its duties, and
- 44 accomplish the objectives and purposes of this resolution. All agencies of the state are
- 45 directed to provide the committee with such assistance as the committee shall require to
- 46 perform its assigned duties. In the event the committee makes a report of its findings and
- 47 recommendations, with suggestions for proposed legislation, if any, such report shall be
- 48 made on or before December 31, 2013. The committee shall stand abolished on
- 49 December 31, 2013.