A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the Towns County High School girls cross country team for their significant

2 achievements; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the Towns County High School girls cross country team, composed of Caitlin

4 Sheffield, Ansley Vardeman, Taylor Vardeman, Alana Calhoun, Sierra Nichols, Rachel

5 Barnard, Miranda Queen, and Samatha Quijada, won the 2012 GHSA Girls Cross Country

6 State Championship; and

7 WHEREAS, under the direction of coach Jeannie Ledford and managers Christa Hamill and

8 Lindy Hollingshead, this team of exceptional athletes was able to capture the statewide prize

9 with a team score of 29; and

WHEREAS, Ansley Vardeman was also the 2012 Individual State Champion in the 5K with
a time of 21:34; and

12 WHEREAS, the team has qualified for the state championship cross country race in 2003,

13 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012, and they were the Region 4-A Public

14 School champion in 2012; and

15 WHEREAS, this distinguished team has an overall grade point average of 3.5; and

16 WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the outstanding achievements of this phenomenal

17 team be appropriately recognized.

18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body

19 commend the Towns County High School girls cross country team on their 2012 GHSA girls

20 cross country state championship win.

- 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 22 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Towns County High School girls
- 23 cross country team.