13 LC 102 0286

House Resolution 533

By: Representatives Smith of the 70th, Williams of the 119th, Nimmer of the 178th, Epps of the 144th, Fleming of the 121st, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Oconee District on being named the State Forestry
- 2 Commission 2012 District of the Year and inviting them to appear before the House of
- 3 Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the mission of the State Forestry Commission is "To provide leadership,
- 5 service, and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and
- 6 WHEREAS, each year, one forestry district is selected as the State Forestry Commission's
- 7 District of the Year based on 50 measures of accomplishments that include customer
- 8 satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged,
- 9 facility appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Oconee District improved job performance in 31 of 50 measurable goals,
- and their most notable achievements were the 16 percent increase in the number of
- silvicultural burning assists provided to landowners and the doubling of the number of forest
- 13 management cases completed for landowners; and
- 14 WHEREAS, in addition, the Oconee District maintained outstanding wildfire protection of
- 15 the district's 3,725,853 forested acres during a wildfire season that resulted in the damage or
- loss in Georgia of over \$8.2 million worth of personal property and threatened an additional
- 17 \$2.2 billion worth of personal property; and
- 18 WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Oconee District in 2012, the
- 19 district was selected as the State Forestry Commission's District of the Year; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the district consists of dedicated GFC professionals Rangers Daniel Gore, Troy
- 21 Helms, Jr., Richard Gaiser, Bobby Jones, Myron Williams, Kenneth Ellison, Brett Jenson,
- 22 Josh Guy, Brendon Holdeman, Andrew Rooks, Phillip Davis, Alvin Layton, David Mayo,
- William Merritt, Jr., James Brake, Jr., Mike Maddox, James Mashburn II, James Bledsoe,

13 LC 102 0286

24 Chris Buchanan, Tommy Williams, Sammy Mills, Abron Blackburn, Rob Moore, Dameon

- 25 Wilkinson, Blake Ansley, John Crawford, Adam Weatherford, Bill Lee, Richard Williams,
- 26 Marvin Durden, Robert Stephens, Timothy Beal, and Jesse Boles; Supplemental Firefighters
- 27 Kurt Bleemel, James Peebles, Keith Wooster, James Eubanks, Rachel Saunders, Michael
- 28 Gilbert, and Michael Holloway; Chief Rangers Jason Butts, George Glenn, Larry Felix,
- 29 Shane Barrow, Tracy Graham, Jimmy Kennedy, Russell Fowler, Doug Josey, Beth Richards,
- 30 Brandon Davis, Tom Wooten, Greg Coley, and Lynwood Garbutt; Foresters Chris Barnes,
- 31 Dane Bass, Cathy Black, and Keith Murphy; and district staff Amy Treadwell, Hal Sharpe,
- 32 David Epps, and Troy Clymer; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Oconee District are a clear indication of the hard
- work, dedication, and teamwork present in the district, the ability of district personnel to
- 35 meet increased demand for services by working together with fewer resources, and continued
- 36 loyalty to customers and communities; and
- 37 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Oconee District bring great pride upon the
- 38 professionals within the district, the citizens of the district, the State Forestry Commission,
- 39 and the State of Georgia.
- 40 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 41 the members of this body commend the Oconee District for being named the 2012 District
- 42 of the Year and invite the dedicated professionals of the Oconee District to appear before the
- 43 House of Representatives on a date and time designated by the Speaker of the House.
- 44 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 45 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Troy
- 46 Clymer.