13 LC 102 0211

Senate Resolution 200

By: Senators Tolleson of the 20th and Cowsert of the 46th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Oconee District on being named the State Forestry
- 2 Commission 2012 District of the Year; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the mission of the State Forestry Commission is "To provide leadership,
- 4 service, and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and
- 5 WHEREAS, each year, one forestry district is selected as the State Forestry Commission's
- 6 District of the Year based on 50 measures of accomplishments that include customer
- 7 satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged,
- 8 facility appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Oconee District improved job performance in 31 of 50 measurable goals,
- 10 and their most notable achievements were the 16 percent increase in the number of
- silvicultural burning assists provided to landowners and the doubling of the number of forest
- 12 management cases completed for landowners; and
- 13 WHEREAS, in addition, the Oconee District maintained outstanding wildfire protection of
- 14 the district's 3,725,853 forested acres during a wildfire season that resulted in the damage or
- 15 loss in Georgia of over \$8.2 million worth of personal property and threatened an additional
- 16 \$2.2 billion worth of personal property; and
- 17 WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Oconee District in 2012, the
- 18 district was selected as the State Forestry Commission's District of the Year; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the district consists of dedicated GFC professionals Rangers Daniel Gore, Troy
- 20 Helms, Jr., Richard Gaiser, Bobby Jones, Myron Williams, Kenneth Ellison, Brett Jenson,
- 21 Josh Guy, Brendon Holdeman, Andrew Rooks, Phillip Davis, Alvin Layton, David Mayo,
- William Merritt, Jr., James Brake, Jr., Mike Maddox, James Mashburn II, James Bledsoe,
- 23 Chris Buchanan, Tommy Williams, Sammy Mills, Abron Blackburn, Rob Moore, Dameon

13 LC 102 0211

Wilkinson, Blake Ansley, John Crawford, Adam Weatherford, Bill Lee, Richard Williams,

- 25 Marvin Durden, Robert Stephens, Timothy Beal, and Jesse Boles; Supplemental Firefighters
- 26 Kurt Bleemel, James Peebles, Keith Wooster, James Eubanks, Rachel Saunders, Michael
- 27 Gilbert, and Michael Holloway; Chief Rangers Jason Butts, George Glenn, Larry Felix,
- 28 Shane Barrow, Tracy Graham, Jimmy Kennedy, Russell Fowler, Doug Josey, Beth Richards,
- 29 Brandon Davis, Tom Wooten, Greg Coley, and Lynwood Garbutt; Foresters Chris Barnes,
- 30 Dane Bass, Cathy Black, and Keith Murphy; and district staff Amy Treadwell, Hal Sharpe,
- 31 David Epps, and Troy Clymer; and
- WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Oconee District are a clear indication of the hard
- work, dedication, and teamwork present in the district, the ability of district personnel to
- 34 meet increased demand for services by working together with fewer resources, and continued
- 35 loyalty to customers and communities; and
- 36 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Oconee District bring great pride upon the
- 37 professionals within the district, the citizens of the district, the State Forestry Commission,
- and the State of Georgia.
- 39 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 40 commend the Oconee District for being named the 2012 District of the Year.
- 41 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 42 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Troy Clymer.