13 LC 100 0021

Senate Resolution 17

By: Senators Seay of the 34th, Chance of the 16th, Ramsey, Sr. Of the 43rd and Davenport of the 44th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Sandy Creek High School football team on their 2012
- 2 GHSA Class AAAA State Championship; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, through perseverance and unwavering determination, the Sandy Creek football
- 4 team won the 2012 GHSA Class AAAA State Championship; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding
- 6 athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each
- 7 member of the team; their superb offensive and defensive talents; and the astute direction of
- 8 Coach Chip Walker; and
- 9 WHEREAS, this year, the Sandy Creek Patriots continued a reputation for excellence as they
- 10 were region champions in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011, Fayette County
- 11 Champions in 2008 and 2009, and in the state playoffs in 1999, 2000, and 2002-2011; and
- 12 WHEREAS, several individual members of the team have received recognition for their
- 13 hard-earned skills as South Metro Players of the Year: QB Cole Garvin, WR Demarre Kitt,
- 14 OL Alan Knott, PK Mitchell McMillin, and DB Shaquille Wiggins; and
- 15 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by
- 16 performing with precision and dedication over months of training and competition, it is
- 17 abundantly proper to call them champions.
- 18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 19 commend the Sandy Creek High School football team on their 2012 GHSA Class AAAA
- 20 State Championship.

13 LC 100 0021

21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

22 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Sandy Creek High School football

23 team.