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House Resolution 2187

By: Representatives Taylor of the 55th, Abrams of the 84th, Brooks of the 63rd, and Long of

the 61st 

A RESOLUTION

Proposing an amendment to the Constitution so as to establish a minimum wage for certain1

employees in Georgia; to require that notice of such minimum wage be given to employees;2

to prohibit retaliation against employees for exercising their rights to receive a minimum3

wage; to provide for a civil action for violations; to provide for repeal of amendment; to4

provide for the submission of this amendment for ratification or rejection; and for other5

purposes.6

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA: 7

SECTION 1.8

The Constitution is amended by adding a new article to read as follows:9

"ARTICLE XII.10

WAGES AND LABOR11

SECTION I.12

EMPLOYEE WAGES13

Paragraph I.  Minimum wage.  (a) All working Georgians are entitled to be paid a14

minimum wage that is sufficient to provide a decent and healthy life for them and their15

families, that protects their employers from unfair low-wage competition, and that does not16

force them to rely on taxpayer funded public services in order to avoid economic hardship.17

(b) As used in this Paragraph, the terms 'employer,' 'employee,' and 'wage' shall have the18

meanings established under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and its19

implementing regulations; except that the term 'employee' shall also include any person20

over the age of 17 regardless of whether he or she is enrolled in educational courses.21

(c) Employers shall pay all employees wages no less than the minimum wage for all22

hours worked in Georgia.  As of June 1, 2013, the minimum wage shall be established at23
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an hourly rate of $7.25.  On June 1, 2014, the minimum wage shall be increased to an24

hourly rate of $8.25.25

(d)  It shall be unlawful for an employer or any other party to discriminate in any manner26

or take adverse action against any person in retaliation for exercising rights protected under27

this Paragraph.  Rights protected under this Paragraph include, but are not limited to, the28

right to file a complaint or inform any person about any party's alleged noncompliance with29

this Paragraph, and the right to inform any person of his or her potential rights under this30

Paragraph and to assist him or her in asserting such rights.31

(e) Persons aggrieved by a violation of this Paragraph may bring a civil action in a court32

of competent jurisdiction against an employer or person violating this Paragraph and, upon33

prevailing, shall recover the full amount of any back wages unlawfully withheld plus the34

same amount as liquidated damages and shall be awarded reasonable attorney's fees and35

costs.  In addition, they shall be entitled to such legal or equitable relief as may be36

appropriate to remedy the violation including, without limitation, reinstatement in37

employment or injunctive relief, or both.  Any employer or other person found liable for38

willfully violating this Paragraph shall also be subject to a fine payable to the state in the39

amount of $1,000.00 for each violation.  The state attorney general or other official40

designated by the General Assembly may also bring a civil action to enforce this41

Paragraph.  Actions to enforce this Paragraph shall be subject to a statute of limitations of42

four years or, in the case of willful violations, five years. Such actions may be brought as43

a class action.44

(f) Implementing legislation is not required in order to enforce this Paragraph. The45

General Assembly may by statutory law establish additional remedies or fines for46

violations of this Paragraph, raise the applicable minimum wage rate, extend the tip credit,47

or extend coverage of the minimum wage to employers or employees not covered by this48

Paragraph.  The General Assembly may by statutory law adopt any measures appropriate49

for the implementation of this Paragraph.  This Paragraph provides for payment of a50

minimum wage and shall not be construed to preempt or otherwise limit the authority of51

the state legislature or any other public body to adopt or enforce any other law, regulation,52

requirement, policy, or standard that provides for payment of higher or supplemental wages53

or benefits, or that extends such protections to employers or employees not covered by this54

Paragraph.  It is intended that case law, administrative interpretations, and other guiding55

standards developed under the federal FLSA shall guide the construction of this Paragraph56

and any implementing statutes or regulations.57

(g) Employers shall be required to provide notice to employees of their minimum wage58

rights pursuant to this Paragraph.59
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(h) If any part of this Paragraph, or the application of this Paragraph to any person or60

circumstance, is held invalid, the remainder of this Paragraph, including the application of61

such part to other persons or circumstances, shall not be affected by such a holding and62

shall continue in full force and effect. To this end, the parts of this Paragraph are severable.63

(i)  In a referendum to be held every four years beginning with the November, 2014,64

general election and quadrennially thereafter, the qualified electors of this state shall vote65

on whether to continue this Paragraph of this Constitution in force and effect.  All persons66

desiring to vote in favor of continuing this Paragraph shall vote 'Yes.'  All persons desiring67

to vote against continuing this Paragraph shall vote 'No.'  If a majority of the qualified68

electors of this state approve continuing this Paragraph in force and effect, then it shall69

continue in force and effect as part of this Constitution.  If this Paragraph is not so70

continued at any referendum held pursuant to this Paragraph, it shall stand repealed on71

January 1 immediately following the date of such referendum."72

SECTION 2.73

The above proposed amendment to the Constitution shall be published and submitted as74

provided in Article X, Section I, Paragraph II of the Constitution. The ballot submitting the75

above proposed amendment shall have written or printed thereon the following: 76

"(  )  YES77

 78

  (  )  NO79

 80

 81

Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended so as to establish a minimum

wage for certain employees in Georgia, to require that notice of such

minimum wage be given to employees, to prohibit retaliation against

employees for exercising their rights to receive a minimum wage, and to

provide for a civil action for violations?"

All persons desiring to vote in favor of ratifying the proposed amendment shall vote "Yes."82

All persons desiring to vote against ratifying the proposed amendment shall vote "No." If83

such amendment shall be ratified as provided in said Paragraph of the Constitution, it shall84

become a part of the Constitution of this state.85


