12 HB 1196/AP

House Bill 1196 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE)

By: Representatives Randall of the 138<sup>th</sup>, Peake of the 137<sup>th</sup>, Holmes of the 125<sup>th</sup>, Beverly of the 139<sup>th</sup>, Dickey of the 136<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

1	To amend an Act known	as the "Macon	Water Authority	Act," approved	March 23,	1992
---	-----------------------	---------------	-----------------	----------------	-----------	------

- 2 (Ga. L. 1992, p. 4991), as amended, particularly by an Act approved May 1, 2002
- 3 (Ga. L. 2002, p. 5363), so as to change the description of the electoral districts; to provide
- 4 for definitions and inclusions; to provide for the continuation in office of current members;
- 5 to provide for the submission of this Act for preclearance pursuant to Section 5 of the federal
- 6 Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting
- 7 laws; and for other purposes.

## 8 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

9 SECTION 1.

- 10 An Act known as the "Macon Water Authority Act," approved March 23, 1992 (Ga. L. 1992,
- 11 p. 4991), as amended, particularly by an Act approved May 1, 2002 (Ga. L. 2002, p. 5363),
- is amended by revising paragraphs (2) and (3) of subsection (b) of Section 2 as follows:
- "(2) For the purpose of electing members of the authority, Bibb County and parts of
   Jones County are divided into five electoral districts as follows:
- 15 (A) Districts 1 through 4 shall be and correspond to those numbered districts described
- in and attached to and made a part of this Act and further identified as
- 17 'Plan: MWA-2012-s018 Plan Type: Local Administrator: s018 User: Gina'; and
- 18 (B) District 5 shall consist of all of Bibb County and all those parts of Jones County
- included in District 1.
- 20 (3)(A) For the purposes of such plan:
- 21 (i) The term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same geographical boundaries as
- provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial
- census of 2010 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric designations in a
- 24 district description which are underneath a VTD heading shall mean and describe
- individual Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census
- for the United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia; and

12 HB 1196/AP

(ii) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any district, whenever the description of any district refers to a named city, it shall mean the geographical boundaries of that city as shown on the census maps for the United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia.

(B) Any part of Bibb County which is not included in any district described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of this subsection shall be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia.

(C) Any part of Bibb County and those parts of Jones County which are described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of this subsection as being included in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such district if such part is not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall instead be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia."

41 SECTION 2.

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

40

53

54

42 (a) Those elected members of the Macon Water Authority who are serving as such on the 43 effective date of this Act and any person selected to fill a vacancy in any such office shall

44 continue to serve as such members until the regular expiration of their respective terms of

45 office and upon the election and qualification of their respective successors.

46 (b) Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, as they exist immediately prior to the effective date of this Act,

47 shall continue to be designated as Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, respectively, but as newly

described under this Act, and on and after the effective date of this Act, such members of the

49 board serving from those former districts shall be deemed to be serving from and

50 representing their respective districts as newly described under this Act.

51 SECTION 3.

52 The Macon Water Authority shall through its legal counsel cause this Act to be submitted

for preclearance under Section 5 of the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, not

later than 45 days after the date on which this Act is approved by the Governor or otherwise

becomes law without such approval.

SECTION 4.

57 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

Plan: MWA-2012-s018 Plan Type: Local Administrator: S018 User: Gina District 001 **Bibb County** VTD: 021EM1 - EAST MACON 1 VTD: 021EM2 - EAST MACON 2 VTD: 021EM3 - EAST MACON 3 VTD: 021EM5 - EAST MACON 5 VTD: 021EM6 - EAST MACON 6 VTD: 021GF1 - GODFREY 1 VTD: 021GF2 - GODFREY 2 VTD: 021GF4 - GODFREY 4 VTD: 021GF6 - GODFREY 6 012600: 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2029 2030 2031 2032 3000 3001 3002 3003 3004 3005 3006 3007 3008 3009 3010 3011 3012 3013 3014 3015 3016 3017 3018 3019 3020 3021 3022 3023 3024 3025 3026 3028 3029 3030 3031 3032 3033 3035 3036 3037 3042 3043 3044 3045 3046 3047 3049 012700: 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2008 2009 2011 2012 VTD: 021RU2 - RUTLAND 2 Jones County VTD: 16910 - HAWKINS 030104: 1061 1062 1063 2019 2022 VTD: 1693 - ROBERTS 030104 1029 1031 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1074 1079 1081 District 002 Bibb County VTD: 021EM4 - EAST MACON 4 VTD: 021GF3 - GODFREY 3 VTD: 021GF5 - GODFREY 5 VTD: 021GF6 - GODFREY 6 012500: 3020 3021 3022 3023 012600: 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011  $1012\ 1013\ 1014\ 1015\ 1016\ 1017\ 1018\ 1019\ 1020\ 1021\ 1022\ 1023$  $1024\ 1025\ 1028\ 2028\ 3027\ 3034\ 3038\ 3039\ 3040\ 3041\ 3048\ 3050$ 4000 4001 4002 4003 4004 4005 4006 4007 4008 4009 4010 4011 4012 4013 4014 4015 4016 4017 4018 4019 4020 4021 4022 4023 4024 4025 013202: 2010 2011 VTD: 021HA5 - HAZZARD 5 VTD: 021VV1 - VINEVILLE 1 VTD: 021VV2 - VINEVILLE 2 VTD: 021VV3 - VINEVILLE 3 VTD: 021VV4 - VINEVILLE 4 VTD: 021VV5 - VINEVILLE 5 VTD: 021VV7 - VINEVILLE 7 VTD: 021VV8 - VINEVILLE 8 Jones County VTD: 1699 - FINNEY 030101: 1052 District 003 **Bibb County** VTD: 021HA2 - HAZZARD 2 VTD: 021HA3 - HAZZARD 3 013201: 2000 2001 2002 2003 2005 2006 2008 2009 2011 2020 2021 2022 2028 2030 2031 2032 2034 2055 013410: 2022 2027 013605: 1005 1006 1007 1008 1010 1011 VTD: 021HO1 - HOWARD 1 VTD: 021HO2 - HOWARD 2 VTD: 021HO3 - HOWARD 3

VTD: 021HO4 - HOWARD 4 VTD: 021HO5 - HOWARD 5 VTD: 021HO6 - HOWARD 6

VTD: 021HO7 - HOWARD 7 VTD: 021HO8 - HOWARD 8 VTD: 021HO9 - HOWARD 9 VTD: 021VV6 - VINEVILLE 6 District 004 Bibb County VTD: 021GF7 - GODFREY 7 VTD: 021HA1 - HAZZARD 1 VTD: 021HA3 - HAZZARD 3 013101: 1069 1070 013201: 2007 2010 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2029 2052 2053 2054 4003 4004 4005 4006 4007 4008 4009 4010 4011 4012 4013 4014 4015 4023 4024 4025 4032 4041 4042 4043 013603: 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033 2036 2037 2038 2039 2040 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045 013604:  $2000\ 2001\ 2019\ 2020\ 2028\ 2029\ 2030\ 3000\ 3001\ 3002\ 3005$ 1010 1011 4000 4001 4002 4003 4004 4005 4006 4007 4008 4009 4010 4011 4012 4013 4014 4015 4016 4017 4019

4010 4011 4012 4013 4014 VTD: 021HA4 - HAZZARD 4 VTD: 021HA6 - HAZZARD 6 VTD: 021HA7 - HAZZARD 7 VTD: 021RU1 - RUTLAND 1 VTD: 021WA1 - WARRIOR 1 VTD: 021WA2 - WARRIOR 2