Senate Resolution 1260

By: Senators Davenport of the 44th, Tate of the 38th, Butler of the 55th, James of the 35th, Seay of the 34th and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the American Business Women's Association Greenbriar

2 Chapter on the occasion of its 40th anniversary; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the American Business Women's Association was founded in 1949, and from
this association, many chapters were organized; and

WHEREAS, the Greenbriar Chapter was organized in 1972 by a group of Caucasian ladies,
and a short time later, four aspiring African American ladies, Dorothy Kelly, the late Hazel
Espana, the late Eva Mae Perkins, and the late Maude Roberts, saw the importance and
productivity of the Greenbriar Chapter and joined and became viable forces; and

9 WHEREAS, 40 years later, the Greenbriar Chapter is still in existence and actively involved 10 in the community and in its quest to improve the lives of businesswomen of diverse 11 occupations and to provide opportunities for them to help themselves and others grow 12 personally and professionally through networking, education, and leadership development; 13 and

WHEREAS, the Greenbriar Chapter has sponsored the Airport Chapter, the Onyx Chapter,and the DeVry Chapter; and

WHEREAS, the Greenbriar Chapter has provided scholarships to young adults in excess of \$135,000 and leadership training, self-enhancement to chapter members through convention attendance, local area council participation, workshops, seminars, and community involvement functions; and

WHEREAS, the Greenbriar Chapter has earned numerous Star Awards from the National Association for excellent performance, and its members have received awards for outstanding accomplishments; and 12

- 23 WHEREAS, outstanding and faithful presidents include Dorothy Kelly, Allie Saxon, Mary
- 24 Grant, Rosa Johnson, Cassandra Moore, Angelique Pullen, Evelyn Broadus-Little, Juanita
- 25 Grier, Gail Davenport, Pasty Porter, Ardell Walcott, Gloria Pritchett, Annie Allen, Cathy
- 26 Butler, Teresa Hollins, Bessie Streater, Brenda Rice, Jourline Jenkins, Betty Puckett, Valerie
- 27 Kelly-Battle, Valerie Johnson, Gwendolyn Cummings, Janice Truesdale, Brenda Chris
- 28 Richardson, Rose Reeves, and Faye Sellers; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Women of the Year recipients include Eva Perkins, Dorothy Kelly, Janice
- 30 Truesdale, Brenda Chris Richardson, Angelique Pullen, Teresa Hollins, Bessie Streater,
- 31 Brenda Rice, Jourline Jenkins, Betty Puckett, Gwendolyn Cummings, Gail Davenport, Gloria
- 32 Pritchett, Annie Allen, Rose Reeves, Ardell Walcott, Loretta Howard, Ella Hayward, Thea
- 33 Tolbert, Mary Grant, Avis Boone, and Louise Tompkins; and
- WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of thisorganization be appropriately recognized.
- 36 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 37 commend the American Business Women's Association Greenbriar Chapter for 40 years of
- 38 dedicated effort and initiative in improving the lives of businesswomen.
- 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 40 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the American Business Women's
- 41 Association Greenbriar Chapter.