House Resolution 2000 By: Representative Parsons of the 42nd

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending Sprayberry High School for being named one of the 2011

2 Georgia Schools of Excellence; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, to be considered for the Georgia Schools of Excellence Award, a school must make Adequate Yearly Progress for a minimum of three consecutive years, meet or exceed state mean scores in science and social studies, offer a minimum of two Advanced Placement courses, and not be considered a "persistently dangerous school" under federal standards; and

7 WHEREAS, the program identifies two winning schools from each congressional district in

- 8 Georgia, one for the greatest gains criteria and another for schools in the state's top 109 percent; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Sprayberry High School was named a 2011 Georgia School of Excellence by
- 11 the Department of Education for its third time and has previously been named a National
- 12 School of Excellence; and
- WHEREAS, the phenomenal academic performance of this school is a clear indication of the
 astute direction of Principal Edward Wagner, Associate Principal Paul McMahon, Assistant
 Principals Jeanne Walker, Timothy Crunk, Kerri McDougal, and Leigh Graham, and
 Assistant Administrator Kim Wilcox; and
- WHEREAS, the State of Georgia takes great pride in the diligent study and preparation taken
 by the students of Sprayberry High School and looks forward in anticipation to the great
 achievements this school will accomplish in the future.

20 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

- 21 the members of this body commend Sprayberry High School on earning the 2011 Georgia
- 22 School of Excellence Award and recognize the outstanding contributions of the students and
- 23 staff in making their school excellent.

- 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Sprayberry High School.