Senate Resolution 1089 By: Senators Hamrick of the 30th and Crane of the 28th

## A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the Carrollton High School cheerleading squad on their

2 GHSA Class AAA State Championship; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, through perseverance and iron determination, the Carrollton High School 4 cheerleading squad took home their first GHSA Class AAA State Cheerleading 5 Championship since 2005, making this year their second win after finishing last year as the 6 state runners-up; and

7 WHEREAS, senior Bess Glanton was named the Georgia Cheerleading Coaches Association
8 Cheerleader of the Year; and

9 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding 10 athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each 11 member of the squad, including Karlee Barker, Maiah Britton, Sara Beth Bryant, Kelsey 12 Burkhalter, A'Daria Clark, Cailah Cooney, C.J. Fairchild, Anna Garrett, Becca Geisler, Bess 13 Glanton, Taylor Griffin, MacKenzie Hightower, Morgan Johns, Maggie McGovern, Molly 14 Musgrove, Sarah Richardson, Alex Robinson, Savannah Rollins, Kendall Smith, Hannah 15 Sprinkle, Lori Thomas, Carol Ann Thomason, and Sara Ellen; and the astute direction of Coaches Ryan McKinnon and Sherry Cooney; and 16 17 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by

18 performing with courage and precision over months of training and competition, it is 19 abundantly proper to call them champions.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
 congratulate the Carrollton High School cheerleading squad for winning the GHSA Class

22 AAA State Championship and extend their sincerest best wishes for future success.

- 23 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 24 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Carrollton High School cheerleading
- 25 squad.