House Bill 1150

By: Representatives Nimmer of the 178th, Lane of the 167th, and Smith of the 168th

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

1 To amend an Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Wayne County, approved March 2 6, 1962 (Ga. L. 1962, p. 3110), as amended, so as to change the description of the 3 commissioner districts; to provide for definitions and inclusions; to provide for election, 4 terms of office, and qualifications of members; to provide for submission of this Act for 5 preclearance under the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended; to provide for a contingent repeal; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes. 6 7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA: 8 **SECTION 1.** 9 An Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Wayne County, approved March 6, 1962 10 (Ga. L. 1962, p. 3110), as amended, is amended by striking Section 2 and inserting in lieu 11 thereof the following: 12 "SECTION 2. 13 Commissioner districts. (a) The Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall be composed of five members 14 15 who shall be elected as provided in this Act. For purposes of electing members of the board of commissioners, Wayne County is divided into five commissioner districts. The 16

17 districts shall be and correspond to those five numbered districts described in and attached

- 18 to and made a part of this Act and further identified as 'Plan: wayneccsb-2012 Plan Type:
- 19 Local Administrator: Wayne User: SE'.

20 (b) For purposes of such plan:

(1) The term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same geographical boundaries as
provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial census
of 2010 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric designations in a district
description which are underneath a 'VTD' heading shall mean and describe individual

12

55

office shall become vacant.

25	Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United
26	States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia.
27	(2) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any commissioner district,
28	whenever the description of such district refers to a named city, it shall mean the
29	geographical boundaries of that city as shown on the census map for the United States
30	decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia.
31	(c) Any part of Wayne County which is not included in any such district described in
32	subsection (a) of this section shall be included within that district contiguous to such part
33	which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of 2010
34	for the State of Georgia.
35	(d) Any part of Wayne County which is described in subsection (a) of this section as being
36	in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such district if such part is
37	not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall instead be included within
38	that district contiguous to such part which contains the least population according to the
39	United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia."
40	SECTION 2.
41	Said Act is further amended by striking Section 3 and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
42	"SECTION 3.
43	Elections and terms of office.
44	(a) A commissioner shall be elected from each of the five commissioner districts described
45	in Section 2 of this Act. No person shall be a member of the board if that person is
46	ineligible for such office pursuant to Code Section 45-2-1 of the O.C.G.A. or any other
47	general law applicable to that office. In order to be elected as a member of the board from
48	a commissioner district, a person must receive the number of votes cast as required by
49 50	general law for that office in that district only. Only electors who are residents of that
50	commissioner district may vote for a member of the board for that district. At the time of
51 52	qualifying for election as a member of the board from a commissioner district, each
52	candidate for such office shall specify the commissioner district for which that person is
53	a candidate. A person elected or appointed as a member of the board from a commissioner
54	district must continue to reside in that district during that person's term of office or that

(b) The members of the reconstituted Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall be
elected at the general election on the Tuesday next following the first Monday in
November 2014. The members of the board elected thereto in 2014 shall take office on the

59 first day of January immediately following that election for terms of office which expire

60 December 31, 2018, and upon the election and qualification of their respective successors.

61 Future successors to members of the board whose terms of office are to expire shall be

62 elected at the time of the November state-wide general election immediately preceding the

- 63 expiration of such terms, shall take office on the first day of January immediately following
- that election, and shall have terms of office of four years each and until their respectivesuccessors are elected and qualified.
- 66 (c) All members of the board who are elected thereto shall be nominated and elected in
- accordance with Chapter 2 of Title 21 of the O.C.G.A., the 'Georgia Election Code.'"

68 SECTION 3.
69 The Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall through its legal counsel cause this Act
70 to be submitted for preclearance under Section 5 of the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965,
71 as amended, no later than 45 days after the date on which this Act is approved by the
72 Governor or otherwise becomes law without such approval.

73

SECTION 4.

74 If, as of the first date upon which candidates may begin qualifying for the general primary 75 in 2012, implementation of this Act is not permissible under the federal Voting Rights Act 76 of 1965, as amended, then as of such date this Act shall be void and stand repealed in its 77 entirety.

78

SECTION 5.

79 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.