## House Resolution 1525

By: Representatives Smith of the 70<sup>th</sup>, Horne of the 71<sup>st</sup>, Smith of the 129<sup>th</sup>, Nix of the 69<sup>th</sup>, Cooke of the 18<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the Chattahoochee District on being named the Georgia

2 Forestry Commission 2011 District of the Year and inviting them to be recognized by the

3 House of Representatives; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is "To provide leadership,
service, and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and

6 WHEREAS, each year one Forestry District is selected as Georgia Forestry Commission's
7 District of the Year based on 50 measures of accomplishments that include customer
8 satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged,
9 facility appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and

- 10 WHEREAS, the Chattahoochee District improved job performance in 33 of 50 measurable
- 11 goals, and their most notable achievements were the near-doubling of acreage in silvicultural
- 12 burning assists and the number of forest stewardship plans written for landowners; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the above listed accomplishments the Chattahoochee District
maintained outstanding wildfire protection of the District's 2,627,427 forested acres during
a wildfire season that resulted in the damage or loss in Georgia of over \$19.8 million worth
of personal property and threatened an additional \$461.3 million worth of personal property;
and

WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Chattahoochee District in2011, the District was selected as Georgia Forestry Commission's District of the Year; and

- 20 WHEREAS, the District consists of dedicated GFC professionals: Rangers Jason Donaldson,
- 21 Seth Holland, Andrew Lovvorn, Gerald Robinson, Jeff Mansour, George Barbee, Michael
- 22 Bryan, Chris Dunn, Michael Dean, Ray Brundage, Chad Dorminey, Paul Phillips, Eddie
- 23 Freeman, Billy Lee, Jared Penny, Jeff Sanders, Ken Parker, Geoffrey Dean, Ben Godowns,

24 John Stone, Chris Babb, Allen Benson, Robert Hargrove, Grady Coleman, Jody Price, and

25 Greg Waters; Chief Rangers Jeff Davis, Terry Quigley, Amy Weaver, Jeff Kenerly, Gary

26 Degler, Jenny Lynn Bruner, and Michael Sapp; Foresters Aaron Souto, Seth Weatherford,

- 27 Lee Milby, and Keith Sanders; and District staff Grace Reid, Willie Boston, and Jeff Sibley;
- and 28

29 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Chattahoochee District are a clear indication of the

30 hard work, dedication, and teamwork present in the District, the ability of District personnel

31 to meet increased demand for services by working together with fewer resources and

32 continually showing loyalty to customers and communities; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Chattahoochee District bring great pride upon the
professionals within the District, the citizens of the District, the Georgia Forestry
Commission, and the State of Georgia.

## $36 \qquad \text{NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that}$

37 the members of this body commend the Chattahoochee District for being named the 2011

38 District of the Year and invite the dedicated professionals of the Chattahoochee District to

39 be recognized by the House of Representatives at a date and time designated by the Speaker

40 of the House of Representatives.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Jeff
Sibley.