The House Committee on Intragovernmental Coordination - Local Legislation offers the following substitute to HB 752:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

1 To amend an Act creating the board of commissioners of Jasper County, approved July 23, 2 1923 (Ga. L. 1923, p. 255), as amended, particularly by an Act approved May 13, 2008 3 (Ga. L. 2008, p. 4036), so as to provide for staggered terms for the board of commissioners; 4 to provide for manner of election; to change the description of the commissioner districts; to provide for definitions and inclusions; to provide for the continuation in office of current 5 members; to provide for the submission of this Act for preclearance under Section 5 of the 6 7 federal Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes. 8

9

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

10

14

SECTION 1.

An Act creating the board of commissioners of Jasper County, approved July 23, 1923
(Ga. L. 1923, p. 255), as amended, particularly by an Act approved May 13, 2008
(Ga. L. 2008, p. 4036), is amended by revising Section 1 as follows:

"SECTION 1.

(a)(1) There is established in Jasper County a board of commissioners, which shall be
the governing authority of Jasper County and shall be composed of five members as
provided in this section. For the purpose of electing members of the board, Jasper
County is divided into five commissioner districts which shall be and correspond to those
five numbered districts described in and attached to and made a part of this Act and
further identified as 'Plan: jasperccsbprop1R-Tiger2010 Plan Type: Local Administrator:
Jasper User: SE'.

22 (2)(A) For the purposes of such plan:

(i) The term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same geographical boundaries as
 provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial
 census of 2010 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric designations in a

12

district description which are underneath a 'VTD' heading shall mean and describe
individual Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census
for the United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of Georgia; and

(ii) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any district, whenever the
description of any district refers to a named city, it shall mean the geographical
boundaries of that city as shown on the census maps for the United States decennial
census of 2010 for the State of Georgia.

(B) Any part of Jasper County which is not included in any district described in
paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be included within that district contiguous to such
part which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census
of 2010 for the State of Georgia.

37 (C) Any part of Jasper County which is described in s paragraph (1) of this subsection
38 as being included in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such
39 district if such part is not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall
40 instead be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least
41 population according to the United States decennial census of 2010 for the State of
42 Georgia.

- (b)(1) One commissioner shall be elected from each commissioner district by the electors
 residing solely within each respective district. A commissioner must reside within the
 district from which such commissioner is elected. Candidates for the office of
 commissioner shall certify at the time of their qualification as candidates that they are
 residents of the commissioner district from which they seek election.
- 48 (2) In all elections conducted pursuant to this Act, each candidate shall designate, at the time of qualifying, the district from which they offer as a candidate. To be elected as a 49 50 member of the board, a candidate must receive the highest number of votes cast for the 51 seat they are seeking; and, at the same time, a candidate must receive a majority of the total votes cast for the election of a commissioner to that seat. In the event no candidate 52 53 for a particular seat receives a majority of the votes for the seat the candidate is seeking, 54 a run-off election shall be conducted for that particular seat in accordance with the 55 provisions of Chapter 2 of Title 21 of the O.C.G.A., the 'Georgia Election Code,' as now 56 or hereafter amended.
- (c)(1) The members of the board of commissioners in office on the effective date of this
 section shall continue to serve until the expiration of the terms for which they were
 elected, which terms shall expire December 31, 2012, and until successors are elected and
 qualified.

61 (2) At the general election in 2012, the members of the board shall be elected from
62 Commissioner Districts 1, 3, and 5 in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a)

12

LC 35 2466S

of this section to take office on January 1, 2013, for terms of office of four years and until
their successors are elected and qualified. Thereafter, successors shall be elected in the
general election in the year in which their terms of office expire and shall take office on
the first day of January immediately following their election for terms of office of four
years and until their successors are elected and qualified.

(3) At the general election in 2012, the members of the board shall be elected from
Commissioner Districts 2 and 4 in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a) of this
section to take office on January 1, 2013, for terms of office of two years and until their
successors are elected and qualified. Thereafter, successors shall be elected in the general
election in the year in which the terms of office expire and shall take office on the first
day of January immediately following their election for terms of office of four years and
until their successors are elected and qualified.

(d) Commissioner Districts 1 through 5, as they exist immediately prior to the effective
date of this section, shall continue to be designated as Commissioner Districts 1 through
5, respectively, but as newly described under this section; and, on and after the effective
date of this section, such members of the board serving from those former commissioner
districts shall be deemed to be serving from and representing their respective districts as
newly described under this section."

81 SECTION 2.

82 Said Act is further amended by revising Section 2 as follows:

83 "SECTION 2.
84 Except as provided in Section 1 of this Act, the term of the members of the board of
85 commissioners shall be four years and such members shall be elected pursuant to Chapter 2
86 of Title 21 of the O.C.G.A., the 'Georgia Election Code.'"

87 SECTION 3.
88 The Board of Commissioners of Jasper County shall through its legal counsel cause this Act
89 to be submitted for preclearance under Section 5 of the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965,
90 as amended, no later than 45 days after the date on which this Act is approved by the
91 Governor or otherwise becomes law without such approval.

92

SECTION 4.

93 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

Page 1

District 004 Jasper County VTD: 159295 - MONTICELLO

Plan: jasperccsbprop1R-Tiger2010

Plan Type: Local Administrator: Jasper

User: SE

District 001