12 LC 93 0051

Senate Resolution 661

By: Senators Grant of the 25th, Ginn of the 47th, Wilkinson of the 50th, Bulloch of the 11th and Tolleson of the 20th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and declaring February 6, 2012, 4-H Day at the
- 2 capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Dowdy White of Crisp County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 7 State 4-H President; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 9 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of James Hicks of Butts County,
- 11 Quinten Brasher of Chattooga County, Brandon Cherry of Jenkins County, and A.J. Wells
- of Marion County as district presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in
- their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2011-2012; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Lauren
- 15 Morris of Oconee County, Matthew Pace of Chattooga County, Katlyn LaVelle of Spalding
- 16 County, and Will Walker of Turner County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the
- 17 2011 National 4-H Conference; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Morgan Bowen of Sumter County and Crystal Buckingham of Pickens County
- 19 were named 2011 Leadership in Action Winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Tiffany Garrett of Madison County, Clay Hurdle of Lowndes County, Juawn
- 21 Jackson of Bibb County, Josh Norton of Rockdale County, and Amanda Starling of
- 22 Effingham County were named state winners in the 2011 Dean's Awards competition; and

12 LC 93 0051

23 WHEREAS, Tess Hammock of Monroe County won the 2011 National Chicken BBQ

- 24 Contest in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the Tift County Poultry Judging Team composed of Conor Dunn, Anna
- 26 Johnson, Sara Johnson, and DeAnn Taylor won the 2011 National Poultry Judging Contest
- 27 in Louisville, Kentucky, and Conor Dunn was named High Individual in the national contest;
- 28 and
- 29 WHEREAS, the Hart County Forestry Judging Team composed of Brittany Evans, Abby
- 30 Harrison, Ashley Hollinshead, and Rachel Rice won the 2011 National 4-H Forestry
- 31 Invitational in Weston, West Virginia; and
- 32 WHEREAS, Monday, February 6, 2012, is 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 34 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agriculture and Environmental
- 35 Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Dowdy White, State 4-H President; Mr. Arch D. Smith, State
- 36 4-H Leader; and each of the 2011-2012 4-H district presidents, 2011 Dean's Awards winners,
- 37 2011 4-H Conference delegates, 2011 Leadership in Action winners, the 2011 National
- 38 Chicken BBQ Contest winner, the 2011 National Poultry Judging Contest winners, and the
- 39 2011 national winners in the National 4-H Forestry Invitational for their numerous
- 40 accomplishments and for the leadership which they have demonstrated and declare February
- 41 6, 2012, as 4-H Day at the capitol.
- 42 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 43 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 44 Extension.