11 LC 94 4791

Senate Resolution 538

By: Senator Ramsey, Sr. of the 43rd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the Miller Grove High School varsity boys basketball team on winning their
- 2 third consecutive Class AAAA State Championship; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, for the third time in their brief seven-year history, the Miller Grove High School
- 4 varsity boys basketball team earned the top ranking in the state through insistence, fortitude,
- 5 and perseverance, by defeating Rockdale County High School by a score of 67-59; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the GHSA championship title-earning win capped an impressive record of 32-1
- 7 for the season and makes them just the tenth program in Georgia's history to win three
- 8 consecutive state titles and the first to win three consecutive titles in Class AAAA; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the excellent
- 10 athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, the unity of purpose and spirit of each member
- of the team and their tremendous offensive and dynamic defensive talents; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the team's stellar season was achieved due to the astute direction of Head Coach
- 13 Sharman White; Assistant Coaches Timothy Britt, James Crawl, Lashawn Reaves, and
- 14 Derrick Robinson; and Team Managers Nautica Domineck, Kiersten Johnson, and Bobby
- 15 Thompson; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the 2010 Miller Grove High School varsity boys basketball championship team
- 17 is composed of the following talented athletes: Henry Brooks, Earl Bryant, Justin Colvin,
- 18 Elondo Evans, Tony Evans, Christian Houston, Thomas Marshall, Johnquavius Mcbride,
- 19 Brandon Morris, Tony Parker, Davante Provost, Devon Provost, Kyree Taylor, and Kyle
- 20 Wallace; and
- 21 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by
- 22 performing with precision and determination over months of training and competition, it is
- abundantly proper to call them champions.

11 LC 94 4791

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body

- 25 congratulate the Miller Grove High School varsity boys basketball team on winning their
- 26 third consecutive Class AAAA State Championship and extend their sincere best wishes for
- 27 future success.
- 28 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 29 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to the coaches and players of the Miller
- 30 Grove High School varsity boys basketball team.