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                          NOT GERMANE

Senators Shafer of the 48th, Hill of the 32nd and McKoon of the 29th offered the following

amendment:

Amend SB 10 by deleting lines 1 and 2 and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 1

To amend Chapter 3 of Title 3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to the2

regulation of alcoholic beverages generally, so as to revise certain provisions relating to3

when and to whom alcoholic beverages may be sold or furnished; to provide 4

By adding the following after "procedures;" on line 10 the following:5

to provide for procedures and certain penalties for certain violations relating to the furnishing6

to, purchase, of, or possession by persons under 21 years of age of alcoholic beverages;7

By deleting lines 15 and 16 and inserting in lieu thereof the following:8

Chapter 3 of Title 3 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to the regulation of9

alcoholic beverages generally, is amended by revising  Code Section 3-3-7, relating to the10

local authorization and regulation of sales of alcoholic beverages on Sunday, by 11

By adding between lines 100 and 101 the following:12

SECTION 2.13

Said chapter is further amended by revising Code Section 3-3-23.1, relating to procedures14

and penalties upon certain violations of Code Section 3-3-23, by adding new subsections to15

read as follows:16

"(g)  On the second time within a one-year period of time that a licensee under this title or17

a person who is in the employ of a licensee under this title is convicted of providing any18

alcoholic beverage to a person under 21 years of age in violation of paragraph (1) of19

subsection (a) of Code Section 3-3-23, then such licensee's license or licenses under this20

title and the license or licenses issued for the premises where such violation occurred shall21

be suspended for a period of two weeks.  Before the suspension of any license pursuant to22

this subsection, the licensee or the holder of the license for the licensed premises shall be23

afforded a hearing with an opportunity to present evidence and cross-examine opposing24

witnesses.25

(h)  On the third time within a one-year period of time that a licensee under this title or a26

person who is in the employ of a licensee under this title is convicted of providing any27

alcoholic beverage to a person under 21 years of age in violation of paragraph (1) of28

subsection (a) of Code Section 3-3-23, then such licensee's license or licenses under this29

title and the license or licenses issued for the premises where such violation occurred shall30
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be suspended for a period of one month.  Before the suspension of any license pursuant to31

this subsection, the licensee or the holder of the license for the licensed premises shall be32

afforded a hearing with an opportunity to present evidence and cross-examine opposing33

witnesses.34

(i)  On the fourth time within a one-year period of time that a licensee under this title or a35

person who is in the employ of a licensee under this title is convicted of providing any36

alcoholic beverage to a person under 21 years of age in violation of paragraph (1) of37

subsection (a) of Code Section 3-3-23, then such licensee's license or licenses under this38

title and the license or licenses issued for the premises where such violation occurred shall39

be suspended for a period of two months.  Before the suspension of any license pursuant40

to this subsection, the licensee or the holder of the license for the licensed premises shall41

be afforded a hearing with an opportunity to present evidence and cross-examine opposing42

witnesses.43

(j)  On the fifth time within a one-year period of time that a licensee under this title or a44

person who is in the employ of a licensee under this title is convicted of providing any45

alcoholic beverage to a person under 21 years of age in violation of paragraph (1) of46

subsection (a) of Code Section 3-3-23, then such licensee's license or licenses under this47

title and the license or licenses issued for the premises where such violation occurred shall48

be suspended for a period of three months.  Before the cancellation of any license pursuant49

to this subsection, the licensee or the holder of the license for the licensed premises shall50

be afforded a hearing with an opportunity to present evidence and cross-examine opposing51

witnesses. 52

(k)  On the sixth time within a one-year period of time that a licensee under this title or a53

person who is in the employ of a licensee under this title is convicted of providing any54

alcoholic beverage to a person under 21 years of age in violation of paragraph (1) of55

subsection (a) of Code Section 3-3-23, then such licensee's license or licenses under this56

title and the license or licenses issued for the premises where such violation occurred shall57

be cancelled.  Before the cancellation of any license pursuant to this subsection, the58

licensee or the holder of the license for the licensed premises shall be afforded a hearing59

with an opportunity to present evidence and cross-examine opposing witnesses. No license60

to sell alcoholic beverages shall be issued to the licensee or for the licensed premises for61

a period of one year from the date of the cancellation. For purposes of this subsection,62

'licensed premises' means any premises in which alcoholic beverages are sold or dispensed63

and shall include any premises which are required by law to be licensed to sell or dispense64

alcoholic beverages.65

(l)  The suspensions set forth in subsections (g) through (k) may be superseded to the extent66

that a county or municipality may impose a suspension of a greater length or an earlier67
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cancellation of the license of any licensee convicted of providing any alcoholic beverage68

to a person under 21 years of age."69

By redesignating Section 2 on line 101 as Section 3.70


