11 LC 94 4420

House Resolution 525

By: Representatives Dawkins-Haigler of the 93<sup>rd</sup>, Stephenson of the 92<sup>nd</sup>, and Jones of the 44<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., recognizing March 14, 2011, as Delta Day
- 2 at the state capitol, and inviting representatives of the sorority to be recognized by the House
- 3 of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a public service organization founded on
- 5 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary women at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the founding sisters included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young
- 7 Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr
- 8 Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra
- 9 Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti
- 10 Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence
- 11 Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Pen White, and Edith
- 12 Motte Young; and
- 13 WHEREAS, only weeks after its founding, the sorority's first public act was participation in
- 14 the Women's Suffrage Movement demanding rights for women, particularly the right to vote;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a sisterhood of college-educated women
- 17 committed to implementing the sorority's mission through its Five Point Program Thrust:
- 18 Educational Development, Economic Development, Political Awareness and Involvement,
- 19 Physical and Mental Health, and International Awareness and Involvement; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the sorority recently celebrated 98 years of exemplary service and support to
- 21 local communities, leading dialogues on public policy issues, supporting quality education,
- 22 producing new projects to stimulate current and future economic growth, and improving the
- 23 lives of the people in their communities; and

11 LC 94 4420

24 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has instituted the Georganna Sinkfield

- 25 Servant Leadership Award in recognition of her service as the longest serving female in the
- 26 history of the Georgia General Assembly; and
- 27 WHEREAS, numerous individuals have contributed to the success of Delta Sigma Theta
- 28 Sorority, Inc., including Cynthia Butler McIntyre as the 24th national president, Donna
- 29 Bowan as chairperson, Yovancha Lewis-Samuels as chairperson of DDAC 2011, Reverend
- 30 Gwendolyn Boyd as the 22nd national president and a keynote speaker, Lois J. Gilder as the
- 31 interim regional director, Janis Mathis, Esq., as social action commissioner of the southern
- 32 region, and Beverly Smith as national secretary.
- 33 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 34 the members of this body commend the efforts of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., for its
- 35 continued commitment to public service, recognize its work in making the State of Georgia
- 36 a better place to live and work, recognize March 14, 2011, as Delta Day at the state capitol,
- 37 and invite representatives of the sorority to be recognized by the House of Representatives
- at a date and time to be designated by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 40 and directed to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority,
- 41 Inc., and the above-named individuals.