11 LC 94 4483

Senate Resolution 355

By: Senator Grant of the 25th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Baldwin County Mayor's Commission on Youth
- 2 Leadership and the High Achievers Program; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Baldwin County Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership was established
- 4 to enable students in Baldwin County to develop civic knowledge of their county and
- 5 community and teach them to apply the civic skills of organizing, communicating, and
- 6 working with others; and
- 7 WHEREAS, participants in the Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership are chosen by
- 8 their teachers for their demonstrated potential to make a difference in their community; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership prepares students to become
- 10 future leaders by helping them understand how individuals and collaborative groups can
- make a difference and by exposing them to effective city and county leaders; and
- 12 WHEREAS, this year's members of the Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership included
- 13 Shaneka Brown, Xavier Harris, Lasheria Hightower, Chelsea Hughes, Arshay Jones, Brisha
- 14 Renfroe, Marion Shinholster, Shanquelia Stevens, Tatiana Pounds, Iesha Thompson, and Eric
- 15 Wilson; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the High Achievers Program prepares future leaders of Baldwin County by
- 17 providing participants with high quality educational programming, exposure to different
- 18 countries and cultures, and activities on leadership development and enrichment; and
- 19 WHEREAS, participants in the High Achievers Program include Timothy Adams, Cierra
- 20 Battle, LaKeisha Battle, Jailin Boyer, Angel Brown, Christopher Brown, Quanedria Butts,
- 21 Tyrone Dawson, Damien Dennis, Willie Devereaux III, Trenesia Finney, Edward Harden,
- 22 Quinshoun Henderson, Raven Hill, Amelia Hunt, Brandon Jackson, Cherrelle Jackson,
- 23 Courtney Jackson, Arshay Jones, Ajoya McCormick, Brittney Lindsey, Jasper Milner, Willie

11 LC 94 4483

24 Milner, Deondre Mosley, Quaneria Parks, Travontae Ruff, Shateria Scott, Courvoisius Scott,

- 25 Kierra Spikes, and Jada Wesley; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership is coordinated by Cordell
- Walker, and the High Achievers Program is coordinated by Sequena Moon; and
- 28 WHEREAS, the futures of all Georgia communities depend on individuals such as the
- 29 Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership and High Achievers Program participants who
- 30 are willing to dedicate their time and talent to civic affairs.
- 31 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 32 commend the participants of the Mayor's Commission on Youth Leadership and High
- 33 Achievers Program for their commitment to the future of their community and congratulate
- 34 them for being selected for this outstanding program.
- 35 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 36 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to each participant of the Mayor's
- 37 Commission on Youth Leadership and High Achievers Program.