11 LC 21 1141

House Resolution 475

By: Representatives Smith of the 70th and Cheokas of the 134th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Americus District on being named the Georgia Forestry
- 2 Commission 2010 District of the Year and inviting the dedicated professionals of the district
- 3 to appear before the House of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is "To provide leadership,
- 5 service and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and
- 6 WHEREAS, one forestry district is selected each year as the Georgia Forestry Commission's
- 7 District of the Year based on 64 measures of accomplishments that include customer
- 8 satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged,
- 9 facility appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Americus District's most notable achievements include doubling its best
- 11 management practices assessment examinations, notably increasing its number of harrowing
- 12 cases and miles completed, increasing the forest stewardship plans completed for
- 13 landowners, and recording zero lost-time safety incidents; and
- 14 WHEREAS, in addition to the above listed accomplishments, the Americus District
- maintained outstanding wildfire protection of the district's 2,515,367 forested acres during
- 16 a wildfire season that resulted in the damage or loss in Georgia of over \$5.2 million worth
- of personal property and threatened an additional \$249 million worth of personal property;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Americus District in the year
- 20 2010, the district was selected as the Georgia Forestry Commission's District of the Year; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the district consists of dedicated Georgia Forestry Commission professionals
- 22 Brandon Young Aibritton, Loran F. Anderson, Jr., George "Bubba" Barbee, Bennie Blanton,
- 23 Donald Justin Brown, Michael Wayne Bryan, James D. Cannon, Jerry W. Dailey, Jr., Jessie

11 LC 21 1141

24 W. Daniels, Charlie Devorce, Christopher Dunn, Joseph A. Fincher, Curtis L. Journey, Willie

- 25 Herbert Lindsey, Jared Mark Lynch, Roger Pollock, Gerard Powell, Frank Douglas Redding,
- 26 Leroy Reynolds, Mark Rodgers, William "Billy" Short, Mark B. Shutters, Anthony Bryan
- 27 Spillers, Edward D. Wiley, Tommy Young, Michael Lee Dean, Rosemary Jarrett, Tami
- 28 Parker, Teresa J. Kregl-Barber, Lisa Kannen Duncan, Lance Michael Boyer, Keith Eugene
- 29 Sanders, Marty Fore, Tom Lambert, Robert T. Lumpkin, David Streetman, John Pollard, Lee
- Wright, Alfred Lucas, and Brent McCarty, serving under the leadership of District Manager
- 31 Chad Pritchett and Assistant District Manager James Conner; and
- WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Americus District are a clear indication of the hard
- 33 work, dedication, and team work present in the district as well as the ability of the district to
- 34 put each individual's talents to work for the larger team; and
- 35 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Americus District bring great pride upon the
- 36 professionals within the district, the citizens of the district, the Georgia Forestry
- 37 Commission, and the State of Georgia.
- 38 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 39 the members of this body commend the Americus District for being named the 2010 District
- 40 of the Year.
- 41 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the dedicated professionals of the Americus District are
- 42 invited to appear before the House of Representatives on a date and at a time designated by
- 43 the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- 44 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 45 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Chad
- 46 Pritchett.