Senate Resolution 315 By: Senators Tolleson of the 20th and Hooks of the 14th

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the Americus District on being named the Georgia Forestry

2 Commission 2010 District of the Year; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission (GFC) is "To provide 4 leadership, service, and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest 5 resources"; and

6 WHEREAS, each year one forestry district is selected as the GFC's District of the Year based
7 on 64 measures of accomplishments that include customer satisfaction, public outreach,
8 number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged, facility appearance, seedlings

9 sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and

10 WHEREAS, Americus District's most notable achievements include doubling its Best 11 Management Practices assessment examinations, notably increasing its number of harrowing 12 cases and miles completed, increasing the forest stewardship plans completed for 13 landowners, and recording zero lost-time safety incidents; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the above listed accomplishments, the Americus District maintained outstanding wildfire protection of the district's over 2.5 million forested acres during a wildfire season that resulted in the damage or loss in Georgia of over \$5.2 million worth of personal property and threatened an additional \$249 million worth of personal property; and

WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Americus District in the year2010, the district was selected as the GFC's District of the Year; and

- 21 WHEREAS, the recognized district consists of the following dedicated GFC professionals
- 22 Ranger I: Brandon Young Albritton, Loran F. Anderson, Jr., George "Bubba" Barbee,
- 23 Bennie Blanton, Donald Justin Brown, Michael Wayne Bryan, James D. Cannon, Jerry W.
- 24 Dailey, Jr., Jessie W. Daniels, Charlie Devorce, Christopher Dunn, Joseph A. Fincher, Curtis

- 25 L. Journey, Willie Herbert Lindsey, Jared Mark Lynch, Roger Pollock, Gerard Powell, Frank
- 26 Douglas Redding, Leroy Reynolds, Mark Rodgers, William "Billy" Short, Mark B. Shutters,
- 27 Anthony Bryan Spillers, Edward D. Wiley, and Tommy Young; Ranger 2 Michael Lee Dean;
- 28 Dispatchers: Rosemary Jarrett and Tami Parker; Administrative Assistant Teresa J.
- Kregl-Barber; Forester Lisa Karmen Duncan; Senior Foresters: Lance Michael Boyer and
 Keith Eugene Sanders; Chief Rangers: Marty Fore, Tom Lambert, Robert T. Lumpkin, David
- Keith Eugene Sanders; Chief Rangers: Marty Fore, Tom Lambert, Robert T. Lumpkin, David
 Streetman, John Pollard, and Lee Wright; and Chief Ranger Seniors: Alfred Lucas and Brent
- 32 McCarty all serving under the leadership of District Manager Chad Pritchett and Assistant
- 33 District Manager James Conner; and
- 34 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Americus District are a clear indication of the hard
- 35 work, dedication, and team work present in the district as well as the ability of the district to
- 36 put each individual's talents to work for the larger team; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Americus District bring great pride upon the
professionals within the district, the citizens of the district, the GFC, and the State of
Georgia.

- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
 commend the Americus District for being named the 2010 Georgia Forestry Commission
- 42 District of the Year.
- 43 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 44 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Chad Pritchett.