11 LC 94 4020

House Resolution 380

By: Representatives Dickerson of the 95th, Stephenson of the 92nd, Dawkins-Haigler of the 93rd, Kendrick of the 94th, Smith of the 122nd, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing February 26, 2011, as Eagle Scout and Gold Award Scout Recognition Day at
- 2 the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Boy Scouts of America was founded on February 8, 1910, for the purpose
- 4 of building leaders through the promotion of duty to God, obedience to the Scout Law, and
- 5 service to others; the Girl Scouts of America was founded on March 12, 1912, for the
- 6 purpose of allowing girls to develop self-potential, relate to others, develop values, and
- 7 contribute to society; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Boy Scout Law is that a scout be "trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly,
- 9 courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent"; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Girl Scout Law is "I will do my best to be honest and fair, friendly and
- 11 helpful, considerate and caring, courageous and strong, and responsible for what I say and
- do, and to respect myself and others, respect authority, use resources wisely, make the world
- 13 a better place, and be a sister to every Girl Scout"; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the Boy Scouts and the Girl Scouts share the same motto, "Be Prepared," and
- 15 the same slogan, "Do a good turn daily"; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Rotary International was founded on February 23, 1905, for the purpose of
- 17 encouraging and fostering the ideal of service and to encourage the promotion of high ethical
- 18 standards in business and professions; the recognition of the worthiness of all useful
- 19 occupations; the dignifying of each Rotarian's occupation in society through service in one's
- 20 personal, business, and community life; and the advancement of international understanding,
- 21 goodwill, and peace through humanitarian service; and

11 LC 94 4020

22 WHEREAS, the Rotary Club of Rockdale County is honoring both Rockdale County and

- Newton County recipients of the highest award from both the Boy Scouts of America and
- 24 the Girl Scouts of America; and
- 25 WHEREAS, 18 Eagle Scouts are hereby recognized for their achievement: Samuel Adam
- 26 Bevins, James Adam Cofer, James Andrew Philip Delevett, Douglas Lane Dobbs, Brody
- 27 Kyle Ingram, Aaron J. Johnson, Declan M. Keating-Broyles, David S. Kincaid, Christopher
- 28 James Milton, Travis James Mumford, Omara Adewale Olok, Tyler Jeffery Ransom, Eric
- 29 Ronald Richardson, Jacob Andrew Ryan, Andrew John Smith, Nicholas Carlson Walter,
- 30 Benjamin David Wells, and Zachary E. York; and
- 31 WHEREAS, eight Gold Award Scouts are hereby recognized for their achievement: Clyssa
- 32 D. Clingenpeel, Christine Cornett, Elon Davis, Michelle Gerido, Jennifer Gurley, Holliand
- 33 Hurst, Tricia Olmsted, and Tiffany Williams.
- 34 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 35 the members of this body commend the Rockdale County and Newton County recipients of
- 36 the highest award from both the Boy Scouts of America and the Girl Scouts of America and
- 37 recognize February 26, 2011, as Eagle Scout and Gold Award Scout Recognition Day at the
- 38 state capitol.
- 39 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 40 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the above-named award
- 41 recipients and Tom Harrison.