House Resolution 109

By: Representatives Smith of the 131st, Huckaby of the 113th, Greene of the 149th, Jasperse of the 12th, Maddox of the 172nd, and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending all 4-H Clubs of Georgia and inviting Mr. LaVonte Lovette,

2 Mr. Arch D. Smith, and the 2010-11 4-H leadership team to appear before the House of

- 3 Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to

5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of

6 Georgia; and

7 WHEREAS, Mr. LaVonte Lovette of Jenkins County serves with distinction and dedication
8 as State 4-H President; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
10 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and

WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Zack Smagur of Habersham County, Eve Dennis of Haralson County, Terrence Gibson of Appling County, and Zack Hough of Grady County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2010-11; and

- WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Tyler
 Beckett of Oconee County, Margo Braski of Houston County, Helen Clark of Camden
 County, and Camille Odom of Oconee County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the
 2010 National 4-H Conference; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Chelsie Restrepo of Bacon County and Helen Clark of Camden County were
- 21 named 2010 Leadership in Action Winners; and

- 22 WHEREAS, Casey Brannen of Tattnall County, Helen Clark of Camden County, Tyler
- 23 Edgeman of Oconee County, Ford Fincher of Madison County, and Camille Odom of
- 24 Oconee County were named state winners in the 2010 Dean's Awards competition; and
- WHEREAS, Will Walker of Turner County won the 2010 National Egg PreparationDemonstration Contest in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 27 WHEREAS, the Tift County Poultry Judging Team composed of T.J. Chesnut, Michael

28 Corbin, Rachel Harrison, and Sarah Harrison won the 2010 National Poultry Judging contest

- 29 in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Terrell County Archery Team composed of Jacob Cliett, Brandon Ellerbee,
- 31 and Royce Palmer won the 2010 National Compound Archery competition in Kerrville,
- 32 Texas; and
- 33 WHEREAS, Monday, February 7, 2011, is 4-H Day at the state capitol.

34 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that 35 the members of this body recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. LaVonte Lovette, State 4-H 36 37 President; Mr. Arch D. Smith, State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2010-11 4-H district 38 presidents, 2010 Dean's Awards winners, 2010 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2010 39 Leadership in Action winners, and the 2010 National Egg Preparation Demonstration Contest 40 winner, the 2010 National Poultry Judging Contest Winners, and the 2010 National Winners 41 in the Compound Archery competition for their numerous accomplishments and for the 42 leadership which they have demonstrated.

- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mr. LaVonte Lovette, Mr. Arch D. Smith, and each of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution are invited to appear before the House of Representatives on a date and at a time designated by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and that Mr. LaVonte Lovette is invited to address the House of Representatives upon such date.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia
 Cooperative Extension.