11 LC 94 3718

Senate Resolution 61

By: Senators Grant of the 25th, Ginn of the 47th, Cowsert of the 46th, Bulloch of the 11th, Goggans of the 7th and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending all 4-H Clubs of Georgia and declaring February 7, 2011, as
- 2 4-H Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. LaVonte Lovette of Jenkins County serves with distinction and dedication
- 7 as State 4-H President; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 9 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Zack Smagur of Habersham
- 11 County, Eve Dennis of Haralson County, Terrence Gibson of Appling County, and Zack
- 12 Hough of Grady County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H
- membership in their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2010-11;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Tyler
- 16 Beckett of Oconee County, Margo Braski of Houston County, Helen Clark of Camden
- 17 County, and Camille Odom of Oconee County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the
- 18 2010 National 4-H Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Chelsie Restrepo of Bacon County and Helen Clark of Camden County were
- 20 named 2010 Leadership in Action Winners; and

11 LC 94 3718

21 WHEREAS, Casey Brannen of Tattnall County, Helen Clark of Camden County, Tyler

- 22 Edgeman of Oconee County, Ford Fincher of Madison County, and Camille Odom of
- Oconee County were named state winners in the 2010 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Will Walker of Turner County won the 2010 National Egg Preparation
- 25 Demonstration Contest in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the Tift County Poultry Judging Team composed of T.J. Chesnut, Michael
- 27 Corbin, Rachel Harrison, and Sarah Harrison won the 2010 National Poultry Judging contest
- 28 in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 29 WHEREAS, the Terrell County Archery Team composed of Jacob Cliett, Brandon Ellerbee,
- 30 and Royce Palmer won the 2010 National Compound Archery competition in Kerrville,
- 31 Texas; and
- 32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 33 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 34 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. LaVonte Lovette, State 4-H President; Mr. Arch
- 35 D. Smith, State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2010-11 4-H district presidents, 2010 Dean's
- 36 Awards winners, 2010 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2010 Leadership in Action
- winners, and the 2010 National Egg Preparation Demonstration Contest winner, the 2010
- 38 National Poultry Judging Contest Winners, and the 2010 National Winners in the Compound
- 39 Archery competition for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership which they
- 40 have demonstrated and declare Monday, February 7, 2011, as 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- 41 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 42 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 43 Extension.