11 LC 94 3742

Senate Resolution 56

By: Senators Hooks of the 14th, Hamrick of the 30th and Harbison of the 15th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Auburn University football team; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, as the crowning achievement of a spectacular undefeated 2010 season, the
- 3 Auburn University Tigers football team captured the coveted SEC Championship, the 2010
- 4 BCS National Championship, and a Number 1 BSC ranking; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the level of excellence achieved during the 2010 season required the dedication
- 6 and creativity of the Tigers coaching staff, which was led by Head Coach Gene Chizik, and
- 7 a team of dedicated young men infused with talent and determination; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the 2010 Auburn University football team was composed of 114 members, 15
- 9 of which are graduates of Georgia high schools, and five native Georgia coaches; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Auburn's Georgia players included Cam Newton of Westlake High School,
- 11 Jonathon Mincy of Southwest DeKalb High School, Antonio Goodwin of Booker T.
- 12 Washington High School, Demetruce McNeal of Banneker High School, Neiko Thorpe of
- 13 Tucker High School, Mario Fannin of Lovejoy High School, Anderson Mack of Martin
- Luther King, Jr., High School, Jessel Curry of Buford High School, Philip Lutzenkirchen of
- 15 Lassiter High School, Jeffrey Whitaker of Warner Robins High School, Byron Isom of
- 16 Lovejoy High School, Josh Harris of Carrollton High School, Forrest Hill of Morrow High
- 17 School, Tunde Fariyike of Upsen Lee High School, and Andrew Parmer of Dalton High
- 18 School; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the Tigers' coaching staff that hails from Georgia includes Defensive
- 20 Coordinator Brandon Mosely from Jefferson, Coach Ted Roof from Lawrenceville, Director
- 21 of Football Operations Wayne Bolt from Augusta, Director of Scouting Chad Lunsford from
- 22 Elberton, and Director of Player Development Ben Thomas from Ashburn; and

11 LC 94 3742

23 WHEREAS, Cam Newton of College Park was selected as the 76th winner of the Heisman

- 24 Memorial Trophy as the Most Outstanding College Player in the United States for 2010 and
- became the third native Georgia son to win this coveted trophy; and
- 26 WHEREAS, every member of the team and staff deserves credit and commendation for a
- 27 thrilling and successful season, and more importantly, for demonstrating the kind of character
- 28 that will serve them well in their future endeavors; and
- 29 WHEREAS, the success of the Auburn University football team has energized and inspired
- 30 a nation and lifted the spirit of the entire Auburn family; and
- 31 WHEREAS, it is most fitting that the accomplishments of this team be properly recognized
- 32 and that congratulations be conveyed to the team members.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 34 congratulate the players and coaches of the Auburn University football team on winning the
- 35 2010 BCS National Championship and extend to them sincerest best wishes for continued
- 36 success.
- 37 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 38 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Head Coach Gene Chizik.